Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Problem accessing a website

    This is a discussion on Problem accessing a website within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Folks, Not sure if anyone can help me out, had a problem with my Sky BB and they had to ...

    1. #1
      maxinc's Avatar
      maxinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwdern
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem accessing a website

      Folks,

      Not sure if anyone can help me out, had a problem with my Sky BB and they had to resync my line for some reason (then had the usual they capped me which i had to get removed) and now I am having problems accessing this site:

      Tropical Fish Centre - Powered by vBulletin

      can access it from other locations just not on 3 differant pc's at home 1 on Vista, 1 xp Pro and 1 xp home.

      I have tried Opera, IE and Firefox disabled all firewalls etc etc and still no joy... anyone have any thoughts on what this could be.

      Thanks in advance if you can help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ezdub's Avatar
      ezdub is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      I can not access it either so it could be a problem their end.

    4. #3
      maxinc's Avatar
      maxinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwdern
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      Thanks for trying ezdub, I can access this from work just not on my home one's wondering if sky for some reason are blocking it as it was fine until the resync?

    5. #4
      DigiBoxer's Avatar
      DigiBoxer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121 Beacon
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 + Apple Airport Extreme
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      67
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      I notice from the URL that this is a site hosted by "Site5.com". They recently moved to a new data centre, and since then, they've had some issues with the DNS settings not being picked up by Sky (I have the same problem and can't get to any site that is hosted by Site5, nor can I get to their own site either).

      They've made a posting about this issue yesterday on their support forum (which a mate of mine sent to me as I couldn't visit the site itself to read it!)

      Taken from : Connection Issues for SKY Broadband Users - Site5 Web Hosting Forums

      Connection Issues for SKY Broadband Users
      We have been receiving quite a few reports that customers in the United Kingdom using SKY Broadband are having trouble accessing our network. We are investigating the issue further and working with our data center as well. Users on SKY may not be able to access the site5.com domain or any related services until the issue is corrected

      From what we have been able to gather so far, the problem appears to be isolated to the SKY name servers. Several customers have reported success in switching their workstation name servers over to the OpenDNS name servers. OpenDNS provides free and secure name servers for anyone to use. For more information on setting up OpenDNS on your workstation, please go here:

      https://www.opendns.com/smb/start/computer/
      I've changed the DNS setting to what they suggested in the link to use those at OpenDNS, and it all works fine now and I can access the sites I couldn't do before!
      Last edited by DigiBoxer; 05-01-09 at 10:44 AM.

    6. #5
      maxinc's Avatar
      maxinc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: rhiwdern
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      Many Thanks DigiBoxer, I will give this a try when I get home

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      I'm using OpenDNS and it works fine...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem accessing a website

      using your link I got into it no problem

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION