Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    More than 2 PC's

    This is a discussion on More than 2 PC's within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok have standard Sagem router.... do not have DHCP enabled... have 2 x PC's with static wireless connections - no ...

    1. #1
      chrismholmes's Avatar
      chrismholmes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      More than 2 PC's

      Ok have standard Sagem router....

      do not have DHCP enabled... have 2 x PC's with static wireless connections - no issues and no drop of connections

      I have tried to add another 2 x PC's (again with unique IP addresses) through wireless connections

      they both connect.. then within seconds disconnect ... I can re-connect but they loose the connection after only a few seconds..

      no disruption happens to the other 2 wireless pcs

      help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      You got access control enabled ?


    4. #3
      chrismholmes's Avatar
      chrismholmes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      I have "Enabled Wireless Access Point" enabled located in SETUP - Wireless settings under "Wireless Access Point

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      In wireless settings, click setup access list, then theres a check box, if this is ticked then you will have to add both new pc's within this page and apply.


    6. #5
      chrismholmes's Avatar
      chrismholmes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      In wireless settings, click setup access list, then theres a check box, if this is ticked then you will have to add both new pc's within this page and apply.
      Ok ... this is not ticked

      nothing in trusted Wireless Stattions

      3 x PC's of which two are ones that work well are liseted in Available Wireless Stations

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      Ok, add the 3 in available to trusted then try again and see if the 4th appears if so add that then click the check box on. This will prevent any unathorised ones from getting access to your network.
      Have the 2 pc's you are trying to add got the same security settings as the router is set to ?
      Last edited by dholdi; 04-01-09 at 12:03 AM.


    8. #7
      chrismholmes's Avatar
      chrismholmes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01252
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      Ok added all PC's .. with the access turned on/off the other two devices still fail to reman connected to the network for more that 2-3 seconds.. they can connect but loose it

    9. #8
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      2 things to consider:

      1 are the "new" PCs much further away than the existing two?
      2 are there other wireless networks locally on the same channel?

      In both cases, it may be worth trying a different wireless channel. Because most default to channels 1 or 6, it might be worth trying channel 13.

      Regards,

      Felix

    10. #9
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: More than 2 PC's

      try lowering the CHANNEL its broadcasting on in the router as well as matching it up on the wireless NICS

      the higher channel can be too much causing it to disconnect, but also could be interference with other digital wireless signals.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION