Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 26 of 26

    Speed has dropped

    This is a discussion on Speed has dropped within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You would not be throttled if you are on Max. In any case it would not show in the stats, ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      You would not be throttled if you are on Max. In any case it would not show in the stats, only your download speed. It looks like your line may have developed a fault as phone lines do. To be on the safe side remove the faceplate and plug a filter directly into the Test socket. Take the stats from there. If they are the same then it looks like the fault is in your external line, which can be a pig to get fixed. If your sync increases appreciably then the faceplate has developed a fault and should be replaced.
      You might also like to try a quiet line test by plugging a corded phone, on its own, into the test socket. Dial 17070 option 2 and listen. You should not hear any snaps crackles or pops. If you do report it to your phone rental provider as a noisy voice line. Don't mention broadband.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      mkslimguy's Avatar
      mkslimguy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      Many thanks for that I will try the noise test then contact BT to get the line checked.. I have the faceplate that has the socket for the adsl connector and the socket for the phone, is there still a test socket behind the faceplate?

    4. #23
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      Yes, remove the faceplate and you will see it. A faulty faceplate is unlikely, but possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #24
      mkslimguy's Avatar
      mkslimguy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      Phoned BT, LINE TEST was fine, no hissing pops or crackles..... What next?

      Thanks

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      There is not much more you can do except phone Sky and ask them to trouble-shoot you for a slow connection. When you do this be plugged into the Test socket as they sometimes ask you to do this and it will avoid a call back.

      There is an outside chance your router is on the blink, do you have another one you could try?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      mkslimguy's Avatar
      mkslimguy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed has dropped

      Thanks for the info... I will try resetting the router and will contact Sky, will also remove the faceplate to see if there is a test socket...

      I will report back when all this has been done

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION