Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Help Modem Help. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Fraid so or Homeplugs which if you search on here you will find some good information on....

    1. #11
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      Fraid so or Homeplugs which if you search on here you will find some good information on.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      So can i get Sky to get me a free Modem or what?

    4. #13
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      I dont understand whats a Homeplug going to do when we dont even have a Router????

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      The router supplied by sky has the modem built in, it is a modem/router. All you need to do is plug it in to your phone line and run an ethernet cable from the back of it to your PC. You do not connect it to any other device other than an end device such as a pc/laptop etc.


      If you don't want to run a long cable you could do a suggested and but a couple of homeplugs, they effectively turn your existing electric house wiring into a network. Either that or use wireless which can be a bit patchy.

      NO NEED FOR ANY OTHER MODEM OR ROUTER TO BE CONNECTED!!!

    6. #15
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      Thats what i needed to know, thank you. Ill see what i can do.

    7. #16
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      Can you get like Muli-Ethernet adapters, because i have 2 PC's upstairs.

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      The Sky supplied router has four ports on it. But homeplugs may be the best option here, you would need three, one for the router and one for each PC.

      Either that or run two cables from the router.

    9. #18
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      I have a wire going from my Sky router downstairs all the way to upstairs, so i think its pointless when i could get an adaptor or something.

    10. #19
      JellyMonsta's Avatar
      JellyMonsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 348
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      Plus you said before "NO NEED FOR ANY OTHER MODEM OR ROUTER TO BE CONNECTED!!!" So now your saying that ill need something for my router?

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Help Modem Help.

      Quote Originally Posted by JellyMonsta View Post
      Plus you said before "NO NEED FOR ANY OTHER MODEM OR ROUTER TO BE CONNECTED!!!" So now your saying that ill need something for my router?
      Homeplugs are NOT a modem or a router, they are a network device. But you obviously know what you are doing so enjoy.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION