Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    Noise margins

    This is a discussion on Noise margins within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello I have been in discussions with sky and BT as to what level of noise should be on the ...

    1. #1
      stringer's Avatar
      stringer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: herrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Noise margins

      Hello

      I have been in discussions with sky and BT as to what level of noise should be on the line for attenuation and Noise margin.

      I can't get a definitive answer.

      My stats are

      Line attenuation Downstream 60db and upstream 31.5db
      Noise margin Downstream 15.5db and upstream 13db

      BT say they can do any checks with out sky's permission.

      Sky have limited me down to 2mb to see if it improves, which it hasn't.

      Then sky advised it is because I am 5.5Km from the exchange.

      I have done the socket test and still the same.

      Seems to me like I am getting fobbed off,

      Would I be right??



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      Quote Originally Posted by stringer View Post
      Sky have limited me down to 2mb to see if it improves, which it hasn't.
      To see if what improves - you haven't explained the problem?

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      I think that you may be trying to solve a problem the wrong way. Could you post up your line stats (attenuation, noise margin etc) together with some details of how you are connected (master socket or not, wireless or not etc)

    5. #4
      stringer's Avatar
      stringer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: herrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise margins

      Yes sorry

      Slow DL speeds


      doh!

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      If you're getting slow throughput compared to sync then that's rarely cured by having your line sync capped.

      The number one reason for slow throughput compared to sync is a poor wireless quality signal. Are you wireless?

      If not wireless then this post may help.
      Last edited by Saturday; 22-12-08 at 12:39 PM.

    7. #6
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      what's the sync speeds? might be on Connect and suffering evening throttling...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #7
      stringer's Avatar
      stringer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: herrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise margins

      Hi There

      Not sure wher to get the sync info from?

      I am on wireless but the signal strength is always excellent as I am usually no more that 6 feet away from the router.

      not sure it it makes a difference but i pinged the DNS servers on the router and they were well over 9000ms

      cheers

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      Quote Originally Posted by stringer View Post
      I am on wireless but the signal strength is always excellent
      I'm sure it is but that rarely means anything. It's signal quality that matters. Imagine a very muffled recording - you could turn the volume up all you wanted but that'll do nothing for clarity.

      Before you do anything else, try a wired connection. As you're only 6 feet from the router that won't take any effort at all.

      If you still don't get an improvement, work your way down the list in the post I linked to earlier. Router stats are found in the router admin pages. See the first section of the first sticky in my signature.

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Noise margins

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      might be on Connect and suffering evening throttling...
      Skyuser profile says MAX and the OP refers to being capped down to 2meg by Sky. LLU seems likely.

    11. #10
      stringer's Avatar
      stringer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: herrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Noise margins

      Cheers, I'll give it a try and reply when I can.

      Merry Xmas

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION