Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Slow speeds - help!

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds - help! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've just been upgrading my internal LAN and noticed that Sky BB is pretty slow. Stats as follows: System Up ...

    1. #1
      landwomble's Avatar
      landwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds - help!

      I've just been upgrading my internal LAN and noticed that Sky BB is pretty slow.
      Stats as follows:

      System Up Time 00:01:24
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 249 155 0 5465 2358 00:00:25
      LAN 10M/100M 342 479 0 1718 2126 00:01:21
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 71 30 0 155 120 00:01:14

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1534 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.5 db 22.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 22.5 db

      Can anyone offer suggestions to help? I'm using the supplied Netgear 834GT, I'm pretty close to my exchange, which offers LLU according to sam knows.

      I'm only paying for Sky Mid at present.
      What sort of speeds should I be expecting and can anyone offer tips on how to get them?
      Cheers.

      Ric


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      It looks like you have serious line noise problems. Plug the router into your Test socket and take the stats from there and post back with them.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      landwomble's Avatar
      landwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      Right, I've had a nice, time-served ex-BT guy round tonight, who's replaced everything on the house side of the BT junction box. Nice new proper master socket with ADSL filter off there, and new extension - the wiring is clean as a whistle.

      My stats have changed a little as a result:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1535 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 38.0 db 21.8 db
      Noise Margin 16.8 db 22.5 db

      Noise margin massively improved, downstream connection speed not so. I *think* it can take 3 days to auto-renegotiate a faster connection - is this right?
      Same figures plugged direct into master socket, have swapped out RJ11 cable, etc.

      I'm on Sky's "mid" (5/month) package so I'd expect in theory up to 8Meg, in practice around 4 and a half...

      I've a call in with Sky - worth progressing or just wait 3 days and see what happens?

    5. #4
      landwomble's Avatar
      landwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      scratch that: phoned sky, spend 30 mins on hold and 40 mins with their tier 3. top bloke called alan just got me moved onto 8meg and proved the point that the line will do 13meg if i were on the max package - wouldn't leave me on there though! very happy. phone late at night and get put thru to tier 3 and they're great....!

    6. #5
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      did tier one or cst ask you to remove the extension cable?? what is the length of the extension?? your download speed was probably just configured at 1.5 mb due to DLM or something

      Misfit96

    7. #6
      landwomble's Avatar
      landwomble is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0161429
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      No. As posted, I had the original crappy wiring replaced, and a new master socket fitted: ADSl filter in this straight to router. S/N massively improved, but no actual speed increase until Tier 3 upped profile: they were great - changing on the fly, monitoring result - i.e. "can we do 5? <pause> yes! can we do higher? <pause> yes! does your line support 8meg? <pause> yes! me: if I *were* n adsl2 skymax, would it be worth it? tier 3: <pause> there you go: 13meg max. gotta put it back though....

      Very happy with speeds now.

    8. #7
      gill07's Avatar
      gill07 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Alsager
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      Well done. I'm having a nightmare with speed at the minute.

      Good to see they've got up and actually sorted your problem out.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds - help!

      Quote Originally Posted by gill07 View Post
      Well done. I'm having a nightmare with speed at the minute.

      Good to see they've got up and actually sorted your problem out.
      To be fair to Sky it wasn't their problem to sort, as in many of these cases the problem was with the internal wiring and once the OP had that replaced Sky were able to put the correct speed in the line, chances are he would have had this speed from the start if his internal wiring was not stuffed.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION