Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23

    Connection problem

    This is a discussion on Connection problem within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; When its like that can you access 192.168.0.1 wirelessly and if not can you access it if you put the ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      When its like that can you access 192.168.0.1 wirelessly and if not can you access it if you put the yellow cable in without turning anything off?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      Tried rebooting the router?
      We loose wifi occasionally, but a reboot cures it.

      Made any changes recently?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #13
      jenks15's Avatar
      jenks15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      i've tried rebooting router several times , i have not made any changes recently. will try 192.168.0.1 later when i get home

    5. #14
      jenks15's Avatar
      jenks15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      Still not working i've got a sky router but using a speedtouch wireless adaptor, it shows that i've got a strong signal but it won't let me connect to the internet, it says sky cannot connect ro some unknown reason, everything seeme fine just cannot connect

    6. #15
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      You're connecting by wifi to your router?
      Have you tried by connecting by ethernet? You can then check out the settings on the router and confirm the wifi security!
      You may need to delete the connection in Vista and set it up again from scratch!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #16
      jenks15's Avatar
      jenks15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      so i'll have to try and move my computer to my phone line , ok no probs easier said than done though

    8. #17
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      Erm no just take the router and power lead to the PC, hook it up via ethernet, check the settings and then take it back to the telephone socket once you have checked all is well by navigating to 192.168.0.1 wirelessly.

    9. #18
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Erm no just take the router and power lead to the PC, hook it up via ethernet, check the settings and then take it back to the telephone socket once you have checked all is well by navigating to 192.168.0.1 wirelessly.
      Good thinking!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #19
      jenks15's Avatar
      jenks15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      ok will try tonight cheers

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connection problem

      While you have your router next to your PC try connecting to it by wireless. If you cannot connect, use the ethernet to turn off the security and try again. If it does connect, re-check your security code is correct. If it does not connect, try changing the Channel on the router. Start at No 13 and work your way down.

      While you are in the router settings, change the SSID to a unique name, something other than the Sky default.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION