Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Confused!

    This is a discussion on Confused! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone..... i need some help Just received my sky broadband package, installed the CD and it said im not ...

    1. #1
      adam918's Avatar
      adam918 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Confused!

      Hi everyone..... i need some help
      Just received my sky broadband package, installed the CD and it said im not ready to connect?? Already received my letter and activation date has passed, Then went on internet explorer and it connected with the yellow cable attached. Disconnected the yellow cable to connect with wireless and my router wont connect. Ive tried using two different laptops no joy and i can connect to my neighbours sky router no problem no im guessing its not the laptop, any ideas?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      so you can connect fine via wired but not wireless.

      on your laptop can you see your network when you scan for wireless networks?

    4. #3
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      Hello man ,

      You mite need to change the wireless settings to WEP security,
      If you plug the cable in and in your browser go to
      http://192.168.0.1 Enter Admin & Sky
      Go in to the wireless settings ( or Set up )
      From here you can change most things .

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      if the laptop is WPA then it's best to not change to WEP.

    6. #5
      adam918's Avatar
      adam918 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      yeah, when i scan the networks its there and it tries to connect but just wont connect. Its a fairly new decent laptop so im guessing the WPA isnt a problem.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      Did you type the key in CAPS? If not try again in capitals, also what channel does the card say the router is on?

    8. #7
      adam918's Avatar
      adam918 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      Just tried in capitals, same result goes to waiting for connection then never connects, its on channel 6 on the card and router

    9. #8
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      Try going to 192.168.0.1 and change to channel 13, user name is admin, password is sky.
      If its the black router then click on the setup link at top left of router settings page to get to wireless area.

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      IF you're using Vista, 3 tries to connect to a wireless network will block it so you might need to go 'Manage Wireless Networks' in Networking & Sharing Center and delete your router and try again after a reboot...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Confused!

      Make sure you get you O/0, l/I (that's a big i and little l) etc etc correct.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION