Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 55

    Changing Router help please???

    This is a discussion on Changing Router help please??? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by naza911 Ok. I am thinking maybe that your network adaptor has not been given DNS Details for ...

    1. #21
      tbrown12's Avatar
      tbrown12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Quote Originally Posted by naza911 View Post
      Ok. I am thinking maybe that your network adaptor has not been given DNS Details for some reason so therefore not resolving Domain Names.
      so what does that mean i will have to do mate?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all and post back the results. Note there is a space between the g and the /.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      tbrown12's Avatar
      tbrown12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Open a Command Prompt and type ipconfig /all and post back the results. Note there is a space between the g and the /.
      This one is for the router which i want to put on DGN2000

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : redfive4-oz9rrz
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-6E-05-C9
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 December 2008 19:12:36
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 December 2008 19:12:36

      this 1 is for the sky router

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : redfive4-oz9rrz
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-6E-05-C9
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 14 December 2008 19:25:02
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 17 December 2008 19:25:02


      cheers

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      That is more or less how it should be, so there is no obvious reason why you can't connect. Try this, go into the settings of the DGN and find the place for entering DNS servers. Enter the following addresses -
      Preferred 208.67.222.222
      Secondary 208.67.220.220

      These are OpenDNS addresses.
      Delete what is there, if anything, enter these and see how things go.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      tbrown12's Avatar
      tbrown12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is more or less how it should be, so there is no obvious reason why you can't connect. Try this, go into the settings of the DGN and find the place for entering DNS servers. Enter the following addresses -
      Preferred 208.67.222.222
      Secondary 208.67.220.220

      These are OpenDNS addresses.
      Delete what is there, if anything, enter these and see how things go.
      that has made no difference mate. i'm sick!!!!!! lol

      The connection has timed out

      The server at en-gb.start2.mozilla.com is taking too long to respond.

      this is what says when i try to go onto a webpage

    7. #26
      UseLess's Avatar
      UseLess is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Demon
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      North East UK
      Posts
      248
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Greetings,

      You are using the MAC Address from the original Sky router as the username on the new router aren't you? If not the line will come up but you won't get anywhere.
      Quote:
      Life is like a toilet roll, the closer you get to the end the faster it goes....

      SkyUser Pinger | Password Generator | Test Socket

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      Can you do ipconfig /all again and see if the DNS servers are being recognised?

      Did you reboot the router when you made the changes and allow it to resync?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      tbrown12's Avatar
      tbrown12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      SKY ROUTER

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : redfive4-oz9rrz
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-6E-05-C9
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 December 2008 08:16:23
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 December 2008 08:16:23

      C:\Documents and Settings\trevor>ipconfig /all

      NEW DGN200 ROUTER

      Windows IP Configuration

      Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : redfive4-oz9rrz
      Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
      Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
      IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
      WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

      Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Compatable Fast Ethernet Adapter
      Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-76-6E-05-C9
      Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
      Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
      IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
      DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.67.222.222
      208.67.222.220
      Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 15 December 2008 20:26:01
      Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 18 December 2008 20:26:01

      SKY ROUTER STATUS

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.03.87

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:39:7C:4F
      IP Address 90.204.45.5
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.252.58
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:1B:2F:39:7C:4E
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 8096 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) Brown
      Region Europe
      Channel 6
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled

      NEW DGN200 ROUTER STATUS

      Account Name
      Firmware Version V1.1.1

      ADSL Port
      MAC Address 00:22:3F:42:12:75
      IP Address 90.204.45.5
      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.252.58
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97
      90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 00:22:3F:42:12:74
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP On
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023b.d20e
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 8096 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 416 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) T Brown
      Region Europe
      Channel 11
      Wireless AP Enabled
      Broadcast Name Enabled

      WLAN 2
      Name (SSID) NETGEAR2
      Wireless AP Disabled
      Broadcast Name Disabled

      WLAN 3
      Name (SSID) NETGEAR3
      Wireless AP Disabled
      Broadcast Name Disabled

      WLAN 4
      Name (SSID) NETGEAR4
      Wireless AP Disabled
      Broadcast Name Disabled

      Thanks

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      I still cannot see why you can't connect. It is a bit odd that the ipconfig is seeing the OpenDNS servers, but the router status is showing the Sky servers. Did you change the servers on the PC and not the router? It should not make any difference as the PC setting would over-ride the router, but if you had done that it should also show in the ipconfig of the Sky router.

      I am afraid I can see nothing to stop you connecting, The fact that Sky servers are shown on the router status means it is connecting to Sky. It seems it may be something on your PC which is stopping the connection. Would you like to try starting in 'Safe Mode with Networking' and see if you can connect.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      tbrown12's Avatar
      tbrown12 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Changing Router help please???

      would having a different MAC address to the sky router make a difference?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION