Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 88

    just changed to sky max no speed increase?

    This is a discussion on just changed to sky max no speed increase? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hello all im sure you see this a million times but ive upgraded to the max package about 8 days ...

    1. #1
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      hello all


      im sure you see this a million times but ive upgraded to the max package about 8 days ago (not sure when sky switched it on) i was on mid and happily got 850k download speeds all day long no problem, i wasnt sure when the max package was going to kick in and I was expecting speeds of about 12-14mb (i did the checks via you sugessted links)

      please see my router stats below

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 19.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.3 db 13.0 db


      as you can see my attenuation is pretty good, I have read about sky doing a test for 10 days to see the max speed I can get but I havent seen a increase or drop so im not sure whats going on, any ideas?

      I havent done the master test socket thing yet as I didnt think it would make any difference.



      thanks in advance for any info


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Stats look good, I'm not sure you are on ADSL2, But it could be that DLM is running on the line so you may have to live with it for another week or so.

      It is worth getting your stats from the test socket as it will give a good indication of faults to the internal wiring, ADSL2 is a little more specific to the quality, and it only take a few minutes, you don't have to leave it connected like that.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Please post stats from your test socket just in case. Your package change should kick in very quickly and should not take days to hit. You may want to test in your test socket and if nothing changes call Sky tech support 08442 410 515 and go through troubleshooting for slow speed. Can you log into sky.com and go to mysky? If so check the package change has happened but if it's DLM you may not see any change for another couple of days yet. If you call tech support they can tell if it is running and when it started.

    5. #4
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      thanks for both coming back so quick, wasnt expecting it to be that quick haha, the website definatley says max. ill go and do the test socket now

    6. #5
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      master sicket test results

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.3 db 14.0 db

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      You'll have to ring Sky and go through the slow speed dialog, keep the router in the test soclet for this and see if you can eventually get through to CST, I'm still not sure if you are on ADSL2.

      Cannot remember the upload speed sync for ADSL2

    8. #7
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      is adsl 2 a service I can be switched onto or is it to do with my exchange?

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      ADSL2 is the Sky equipment in the exchange, if you have been offered SkyMax then it must be there, sometimes it is full to capacity though.

      To get speeds greater than 8Mb you must be on Sky's LLU equipment in the exchange.

    10. #9
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      i wasnt offered it i just asked to be bumped up from mid to max, I gave them my number and all that i presumed they would check, maybe it isnt, ill soon find out, thanks for the help

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      It must be there or you would have been told at the point of ordering.

     

     
    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION