Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 88

    just changed to sky max no speed increase?

    This is a discussion on just changed to sky max no speed increase? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; You should be able to get 12-14Mb on ADSL2...

    1. #21
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Red face Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      You should be able to get 12-14Mb on ADSL2


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Depends on the outcome of the dsl availability check to be honest. Your attenuation is quite low and you should be getting better speed than you are if your line is any good between you and the exchange equipment. Has the telephone number changed at all since you moved in or has it always been the same one on the line?

    4. #23
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Depends on the outcome of the dsl availability check to be honest. Your attenuation is quite low and you should be getting better speed than you are if your line is any good between you and the exchange equipment. Has the telephone number changed at all since you moved in or has it always been the same one on the line?
      ]

      no I signed up to bt with a new number when I moved in, ill try them again and see what they say

    5. #24
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      i checked again, had a very nice person this time she knew her stuff, she said if they were to give me any more then the line would become unstable, i cant complain, up till now there hasnt been a problem, i get really good speeds for what ive got, could just be the house wiring, i did ask for a re test and I did mention the low margins and they said they do understand but it wouldnt be worth it


      am i fighting a losing battle?

      actually - will my speed change in the near future will it get any quicker suddenly?

    6. #25
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      This time of year can be a bit of a pain when it comes to connection and speeds.

      With xmas lights and that tend to cause interferance and could be causing your sync rate to be lower.

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Looking back over your post, I don't see you confirming that you have taken the stats from the TEST socket, not the master socket. If you have extensions it is important that you do this, even if an extension is not being used it can still effect the connection.

      If you do not have an NTE5 socket, which has a Test socket, try removing the wire from terminal 3 in the Master socket. This is the 'ring' wire and is not required with modern phones or when you are using filters. This can have a detrimental effect on the noise margin.

      As has been mentioned, you should get 12-14Mbs with your attenuation.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Looking back over your post, I don't see you confirming that you have taken the stats from the TEST socket, not the master socket. If you have extensions it is important that you do this, even if an extension is not being used it can still effect the connection.

      If you do not have an NTE5 socket, which has a Test socket, try removing the wire from terminal 3 in the Master socket. This is the 'ring' wire and is not required with modern phones or when you are using filters. This can have a detrimental effect on the noise margin.

      As has been mentioned, you should get 12-14Mbs with your attenuation.



      I have the router going straight into the phone socket with the small length of cable I had with the router, ive only tried the master socket (the one under the faceplate) I dont have any extentions so that wouldnt be the issue, im not sure if I could actually see my self taking my phone line apart, im not that good at things like that haha.


      looking at your post again I must have been using the test socket, as you can see by the results, no change to my router stats.
      Last edited by doc12inch; 15-12-08 at 02:26 PM.

    9. #28
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      can I just remove the bell wire? ive looked at the below sight seams easy enough

      ::. Kitz - Improve your adsl connection speed .::

      do I have to fit any other new sockets after the bell wires gone or can I just screw the cover back on an forget about it.


      i can handle pulling wires out its just the fitting of the face plate etc that I will probably screw up

    10. #29
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by doc12inch View Post
      I have the router going straight into the phone socket with the small length of cable I had with the router, ive only tried the master socket (the one under the faceplate) I dont have any extentions so that wouldnt be the issue, im not sure if I could actually see my self taking my phone line apart, im not that good at things like that haha.


      looking at your post again I must have been using the test socket, as you can see by the results, no change to my router stats.
      i cant seam to edit my last mail, I dont have one of the new bt sockets, mines an old one but I was going via the front face plate to the socket behind it, if it is possible just to remove the bell wire and that alone ill have a go as long as im not infringing on bts laws and im not going to screw my phone line up

    11. #30
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      If you remove the faceplate from the master socket and the faceplate plugs into another socket in the line box, this is the test socket. Just as it is shown in Kitz's article. If the whole face plate comes off, not just the lower section, then it is an old type master.. However if you have no hardwired extensions, then you will not have the bell wire problem. This only occurs when the bell wire runs to an extension, it acts like an aerial and picks up interference.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION