Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 88

    just changed to sky max no speed increase?

    This is a discussion on just changed to sky max no speed increase? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok cool. fingers crossed...

    1. #11
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      ok cool. fingers crossed


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      You are on Max, your upload indicates this, it also shows you are still on G.DMT. You will have to phone Sky as advised above and ask them to trouble shoot your line. If you are lucky enough to get one of the clued up agents, they will see right away that you need to be put on ADSL2+.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You are on Max, your upload indicates this, it also shows you are still on G.DMT. You will have to phone Sky as advised above and ask them to trouble shoot your line. If you are lucky enough to get one of the clued up agents, they will see right away that you need to be put on ADSL2+.
      i got through to the higher tech ppl and they said im 3kms away from the exchange, sam knows says im less the 1000metres, sky said I cant get anymore speed at all

      i said about changed to adsl2+ and they said it wouldnt be worth it. fair enough, im only seeing a slight improvment of 40k extra a sec

      time to go back down


      theres my new stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8466 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 18.7 db
      Noise Margin 7.2 db 14.5 db
      Last edited by doc12inch; 13-12-08 at 05:00 PM.

    5. #14
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      come to think of it how long to i have to make changes to my package or am i stuck at this max level now?

    6. #15
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Sam knows is probably giving the direct line distance and not a real line distance. Your attenuation is pointing to closer to 2Km from exchange than 3, have you moved recently as something is badly wrong with the dsl checker information that the tech support people are seeing if they say you are 3Km away.
      Last edited by PaulSky; 13-12-08 at 05:01 PM.

    7. #16
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Sam knows is probably giving the direct line distance and not a real line distance.

      dam


      thats a long way from the exchange then, oh well, least im doing good on the mid package.

    8. #17
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Sam knows is probably giving the direct line distance and not a real line distance. Your attenuation is pointing to closer to 2Km from exchange than 3, have you moved recently as something is badly wrong with the dsl checker information that the tech support people are seeing if they say you are 3Km away.
      i moved in about year or so ago.

    9. #18
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Check my post, I was editing while you were typing lol. If you moved a year ago the database must be up to date by now, have you changed your number at all recently? I would ask for a new DSL avail check to be run and then ask CST why you have an attenuation so low if you are that far away in their view.

    10. #19
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      now I cant use my news group software, dam u sky!!

      just did netstat and theres 9 instances of jupiter.skyuser.co.uk on there. whats that

    11. #20
      doc12inch's Avatar
      doc12inch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: hednedford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: just changed to sky max no speed increase?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Check my post, I was editing while you were typing lol. If you moved a year ago the database must be up to date by now, have you changed your number at all recently? I would ask for a new DSL avail check to be run and then ask CST why you have an attenuation so low if you are that far away in their view.
      i could do, would it make any difference in me seeing any extra speed?

     

     
    Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION