Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Speed problems

    This is a discussion on Speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by PeteST he now seems to think it is our line and is sending a BT engineer out. ...

    1. #11
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by PeteST View Post
      he now seems to think it is our line and is sending a BT engineer out.
      Unbelievable - a waste of your time and a waste of Sky's money paying for BT to come out.

      I wonder if T1 are incentivised in some way (positively or negatively) not to put customers through to CST?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      While I accept that Sky have clearly made a right horlicks of this, can you just comfirm that you have no hard wired extensions in your home (I have read your set up and I see that you use the master for everthing) that you do not use.
      I dont think for one sec you have because of the massive noise margin, I am just dottin the i's and crossing the t's

      I should add that my thinking here is as you have Openreach comming, if they find some odd wiring on your side and put it right, they will tell Sky who will no doubt grab the opportunity to land you with Openreach's charges.
      Last edited by Brian69; 13-12-08 at 12:21 PM.

    4. #13
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Ring back and try again, sending a BT engineer out for this is rediculous, have you tried asking to speak to a supervisor?

      Make sure you ask for the agents name at the start of the conversation and explain that you need it for your records as you feel that you have not been given the best advice so far.

      That usually makes people think they a a little more accountable and they may just try a little harder to understand.

      It is obvious what is wrong and everyone here seems to understand it, even some of the other Sky bods, did you explain that your SNR was way too high? when you are talking to them keep getting them to check the SNR and keep pressing for it to be reduced..

    5. #14
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      I wonder if T1 are incentivised in some way (positively or negatively) not to put customers through to CST?
      Nope, they are just told to follow the guidance system and that tells them what to do if they use it properly. Unless the system says to send to CST the agent can get into trouble for sending to CST unfortunately. Common sense does seem a bit lacking sometimes though and by looks of it the agent has checked the DSL report for the line that was run when the OP ordered, has seen that it states (incorrectly) 1Mb max for the line and is letting that cloud his judgement.
      If you ask for an agents name you are wasting your time, they are only allowed to give first names to customers but rest assured any agent or staff member that touches your account leaves a tag on it. I reported one idiot last night for messing a call up that I then had to sort out with the next agent when the customer called back.

    6. #15
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      The idea of getting a name was more to show that you were serious about getting this sorted and not going to be easily fobbed off.

    7. #16
      PeteST's Avatar
      PeteST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      While I accept that Sky have clearly made a right horlicks of this, can you just comfirm that you have no hard wired extensions in your home (I have read your set up and I see that you use the master for everthing) that you do not use.
      I dont think for one sec you have because of the massive noise margin, I am just dottin the i's and crossing the t's
      We have no extentions just the master socket, the filter in the master socket,the router in the modem side then the sky box and phone in the other.

      I will get back onto them, and let you all know what happens.

      Thanks everyone for your assistance

    8. #17
      PeteST's Avatar
      PeteST is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Update,

      i got up this morning and checked my E-mails before ringing Sky, I ran the 192.168.0.1 website and it brought up the same results (384 & 416) noise level of 31db.

      Got a phone call from Sky (before I rang them) saying the problems I reported on the line have been sorted and I should now be able to accept the full 2Mb the Base package offers.

      I rechecked the website and it has reported 2048 and 416, with a noise level of 18db.

      So, I am now quite happy with the speed.

      Thank you all for your help, and to the member that PM`d me offering assistance.

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      That's much better, if you upgrade to mid/max you will do even better.

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Only consider Max if you need the unlimited download, it will not improve your speed any more than Mid.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Quote Originally Posted by PeteST View Post
      Thanks for your suggestions, the router was off for about an hour and it is still the same speeds.

      I rang Sky and the operator was nothing short of rude, I explained my problem, he said the most I can expect is 1Mb, when I indicated the speed with AOL and the BT broadband test he actually laughed and said "I dont think so" and "I am not doubting what your are saying but I hope you are not doubting what I am saying"

      He ran a few tests and he said he was reseting all the settings, he now seems to think it is our line and is sending a BT engineer out.

      I have checked using the 192.198.0.1 site and the noise level is still 30db.

      I am sure I must have picked a bad apple who doesnt like working a Friday night !!
      Yet again sky have send out an engineer, he will be able to do very little. Sky have to change the settings.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION