Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Sky Broadband Mid Query

    This is a discussion on Sky Broadband Mid Query within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive just taken out all the wires from the master socket apart from 2 & 5. Nothing has changed much, ...

    1. #11
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Ive just taken out all the wires from the master socket apart from 2 & 5.

      Nothing has changed much, is it immediate or takes a a day or so?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Your noise margin should rise, but that may be the only immediate effect. You speed will be capped with DLM, so it will not rise.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      With those stats I doubt it's DLM, he's lucky to get anything at the moment.
      it is DLM because his upload is 412kbps...

    5. #14
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Quote Originally Posted by samperry209 View Post
      it is DLM because his upload is 412kbps...
      Maybe but the noise margin of just over 7 shown he is connected at just about the limit for his line, if the noise margin was higher I would agree it could get faster but it's not and he won't.

    6. #15
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Guys, its only gone weird tonight...

      I was getting 856 down and 300-312 up.

      Whats DLM I keep reading?

    7. #16
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Im now getting these line stats;

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 510 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 72.5 db 43.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 14.0 db

    8. #17
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      hmm well we know for sure hes on ADSL+2.... Which is wrong... if he was on G.dmt and set target Nm to 6db i bet he would sync at atleast 1856kbps..

      he is also 3.8km roughly from his exchange.... hmm tbh i reckon its either DLM or a Wiring issue! im sticking with my instinct and i think DLM... probs wrong lols!!
      Last edited by samperry209; 08-12-08 at 10:59 PM.

    9. #18
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      DLM would make sense with a 412kbps up?

    10. #19
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      DLM = Dynamic Line Management... sky use it to make your line stable as possable to get the best possable speed!

      some signs for DLM are your Line attenuation its puts you on ADSL+2 ...which give you a measurement above the normal 63.5db maximum when on G.DMT Mode!

      some other signs as ive pointed out are 412kbps... it should be 416kbps normally

      i myself back in the summer when i had DLM running on my line gave me diabolic speeds... and basically the same stats as you!

      i reached 72db line attenuation as well!...

      your a new customer so your automatically placed in the latest phase of DLM inplementation.... after 10-20 days DLM should of finished and therefore you phone sky up and they should tweak your line settings!

      so from when you first connected count 20 days after to be safely knowing DLM should be over and after that phone sky

      here are some links on DLM bruce!...

      What Is DLM? Everything you need to know.
      Last edited by samperry209; 08-12-08 at 11:30 PM.

    11. #20
      BruceT5's Avatar
      BruceT5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Broadband Mid Query

      Thank you.

      I will leave my router on over the next few weeks and then reboot it.


      Sky BB was activated on the Dec 2nd, But we didnt connect the router till Friday 5th.

      From 5th to 8th Dec we was getting around 856kbps down and 300-312kbps up.
      But last night it changed to silly speeds. So ill take Monday 8th as DLM Start...

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION