Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
    Results 61 to 70 of 83

    broadband max, speed halved?

    This is a discussion on broadband max, speed halved? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok thanks mate, yea i can live without the extension as only one of our phones needs to be plugged ...

    1. #61
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      ok thanks mate, yea i can live without the extension as only one of our phones needs to be plugged into the socket and its currently in the master socker, so the other 2 extensions are unused,

      ill disconnect the 2 blue wires now and see what happens!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #62
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Ok just done that, the phone on the master socket is working still

      my new stats in the test socket without the 2 blue wires are:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 450 546 0 0 0 0:02:56
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:04:00
      WLAN 1947 1582 0 0 0 0:03:33
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9215 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 15.9 db
      Noise Margin 13.4 db 13.5 db

    4. #63
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Noise margin is now much better, as long as your other extensions are not working, Now is the time to phone Sky and tell them that you had a wiring problem which you have fixed and get the to lift the cap. well done.

    5. #64
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      thanks a million mate! i will ring them tomorrow asap and update with the (hopefully!) good news!

    6. #65
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      I don't know how Skys DLM works, but if it is still running on your line then if you leave the router on it may correct overnight.

      This has been said a lot, but anybody going on to Sky BB reaily should check their wiring first as it can save loads of calls to support.

    7. #66
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      if it corrects itself overnight thats great! but the 10 day period has passed now so i think it may require a phone call tomorrow which is fine aswell! yea i really wish i did check the wiring first! would have saved alot of bother!

      thanks Brian

    8. #67
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      If the DLM training has finished it will have capped your line, it will have to be lifted manually. I would not be surprised if you got up to 13-14Mb. If you had taken the advice of one ill-informed poster, you would have got now where, you would have been told your line could carry no more.

      An ADSLNation would allow you to put your extensions back into use and give you the best ADSL signal possible. They are fairly cheap and easy to fit.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #68
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      ahhh i just rang sky and the women was adement that my line was getting the max it could, she said im not capped and said they CAN up it to 12+ again but she said it will make the line unstable and would result in me having to get capped down to around 2Mb to resolve it!

      So is that it now? with the increase noise margin etc i still cant even get a 1kb increase! i think ive deffinitly been capped

      i said i had wiring issues and had these fixed yesterday and she said my line is still getting the max it can!

    10. #69
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Did you get to a CST agent or just to tier1? The tier 1 may have just checked the DSL avail result for your line and not really understood it. You may just need to perservere and call back or send off a KANA demanding the cap be lifted.

    11. #70
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Welcome to the wonderful world of sky tech support You need to ring again and hope you get someone who will put you through to customer support and knows what they are on about

     

     
    Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION