Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 83

    broadband max, speed halved?

    This is a discussion on broadband max, speed halved? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i also seem to have got this problem! i went live last tuesday and had good speeds of about ...

    1. #21
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Hi i also seem to have got this problem! i went live last tuesday and had good speeds of about 11-12Mb

      then come wednesday night/thursday my speeds dropped massivly to 6-7Mb! i thought this was too much for dlm, my current stats are :

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 696849 925148 0 0 0 92:48:15
      LAN 19 0 0 0 0 122:46:06
      WLAN 31920720 17171005 0 60 52 122:45:39
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9215 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 31.5 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 8.3 db 13.0 db

      Seeing this is there any reason my speed dropped from the initial 12Mb? have i been capped? or isit just DLM? I gather its not really worth me phoning sky until 10 days have passed as they will just try and FOB me off with "its DLM" and all that.

      So do i change anything? ring sky? or just wait and see untill DLM has stopped screwing things up?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      inertia3112's Avatar
      inertia3112 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      As you can see from my posts, I phoned them anyway, it was just before the ten days was up, and I'm back on 11.5mb synch speed, the girl I spoke to was fine, didnt try and put me off at all.

      But i guess it depends who you get through to.

      Mines been locked solid since and hasnt moved below the 11.5mb, but who knows if its going to stay that way.

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      it's not a fob off - it's on your welcome letter so if you've not read it then that's your fault...

      but yeah, don't bother calling until at least 10 days are up - having said that, your SNR doesn't actually suggest you're capped, so check setup as DLM would've only set it down if something's triggered it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      inertia3112's Avatar
      inertia3112 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      but you said yourself, the mention of dlm isnt in proportion to the importance of the process, lots of people have missed it, so sky can hide behind the fact that its on the welcome letter but they should be making people far more aware of the process in my oppinion. And sky are quite famous for fobbing people of are they not?

      Ive only had experience of sky since I first made contact a month ago, and ignoring the dlm broadband issue(which yes, I should have spotted and been aware of, Ive had nothing but a runaround off them.

      In saying that the last phonecall was very professional and helpful, but just about everybody else I've dealt with over the phone regarding packages and prices for the t.v. and phone have all contradicted each other.

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      totally agree, and is something I've raised as surely a big card in the router box saying 'plug me in master soakcet and leave me there for 10 days!!' would be a bit more obvious!!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Hi i also seem to have got this problem! i went live last tuesday and had good speeds of about 11-12Mb
      I think DLM starts you off at the maximum your line will connect, then adjusts it down until it is stable. In your case the maximum your line will connect is 11-12MB, but it was obviously not stable at this speed, ie, the noise margin would be very low. Your present noise margin indicates that you are getting almost as much as the line will handle. With your attenuation you should be able to get a bit more, so plug into your Test socket, behind the Master faceplate, take the stats from there and post for comparison.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #27
      inertia3112's Avatar
      inertia3112 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0151 922
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      I checked my speed today, and stats are.......


      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 01:11:46
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1447 1756 0 95 419 01:10:09
      LAN 100M/Full 159 0 0 3 0 01:11:41
      WLAN 11M/54M 2067 1648 0 449 98 01:11:28
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16380 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29 db 15 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 14 db


      So am I right in thinking, as suggested previously, that the dlm on my line has reset and started again?

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      No DLM has not started. Your line is syncing higher due to better line conditions, that is all. You may find that it will drop and resync lower if your line gets noisier. DLM is supposed to do this automatically without disconnecting you, but as you know, it does not work too well. Don't worry about it unless it starts dropping a lot, you might then have to ask for a cap to stabilise it.
      Last edited by Isitme; 13-12-08 at 02:49 PM. Reason: typo

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      kaosNW's Avatar
      kaosNW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      Hi well its been way over 10 days now since i went live and my speeds went from 12+ Mb to around 8-9,

      so is it worth me given sky a call now to see if they can do anything? if i do shall i just say my speed decreased and i was told to wait until the 10 day period was over before phoning back? does it sound like i have been capped?

      my stats now are:
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 125038 243012 0 13790 948465 0:11:34
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:12:39
      WLAN 245859 127514 0 967815 18448 0:12:11
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9215 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 32.0 db 16.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.9 db 13.0 db

    11. #30
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: broadband max, speed halved?

      You can ring Sky, but your real problem is your low noise margin, if you want much higher speeds you need it to be into double figures. What is your internal wiring like? are you connected to the test socket? do you have/use lots of telephone extensions?

     

     
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION