Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

    This is a discussion on What speed am i likely to get with MAX? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi http://img291.imageshack.us/my.php?image=statsyh0.jpg Here are my line stats....

    1. #1
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Last edited by Rahat786786; 05-12-08 at 12:56 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      With those stats according to the speed vhecker between 14 - 16Mb.


      See the checker here and try it for yourself:- Sky User - Help and Support for Sky and Sky Broadband

    4. #3
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Yh, i typed in 28 attenuation on that checker and got 14-16mb but shouldn't the attenuation increase by like 3db if i go on to ADSL2+? Shouldn't i type in that figure i.e. 31 into the checker?

    5. #4
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Well my line attenuation is 14.5db and the checker says I should get 16mb to 24mb. However, I'm on Sky Max and I currently get around 9mb
      Distance from exchange about 200 yards.
      Last edited by westv; 07-12-08 at 01:41 AM.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Line speed is dependant on many things including internal wiring, line conditions, how you are connected from telephone socket to router etc. Just because a checker says you should be able to get "Up to" a set speed it doesn't and cannot guarantee it.
      If you post your stats and how you are attached to the line people may be able to advise.

    7. #6
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Quote Originally Posted by PaulSky View Post
      Line speed is dependant on many things including internal wiring, line conditions, how you are connected from telephone socket to router etc. Just because a checker says you should be able to get "Up to" a set speed it doesn't and cannot guarantee it.
      And which is the point I was trying to make.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      ^^^^^^^^^
      I think you established that DLM was running on your line. It should improve greatly when it finishes, if not you can ask for a manual configuration.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      Aivis's Avatar
      Aivis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?



      How about mine.

    10. #9
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Hi Westv.
      I've just looked at your stats and you do have a low attenuation. There is a possiblity that the ADSL sig may be a bit too strong for your router. You could try the following, which I have known to work with very short lines.
      You will need an old modem lead, the sort of thing that used to be used will dial-up modems, if you have a newish pc with a modem built in you prob got one with it.
      If you connect your router to the phone side of a filter using this lead, it will attenuate the signal by a lot. see if this helps.

      Sorry to hijack this thread.

    11. #10
      westv's Avatar
      westv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chelmsford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am i likely to get with MAX?

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Hi Westv.
      I've just looked at your stats and you do have a low attenuation. There is a possiblity that the ADSL sig may be a bit too strong for your router. You could try the following, which I have known to work with very short lines.
      You will need an old modem lead, the sort of thing that used to be used will dial-up modems, if you have a newish pc with a modem built in you prob got one with it.
      If you connect your router to the phone side of a filter using this lead, it will attenuate the signal by a lot. see if this helps.

      Sorry to hijack this thread.
      Gave it a go

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1799 kbps 268 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.0 db 37.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.7 db 11.0 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION