Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

    This is a discussion on Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I recently moved to a Sky LLU enabled exchange area. (Burton on Trent)... I signed upto SkyBB Max on ...

    1. #1
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      Hi,

      I recently moved to a Sky LLU enabled exchange area. (Burton on Trent)...

      I signed upto SkyBB Max on Monday.. Got my router on Wednesday and my activate date is Tuesday, quite impressed really.

      However when i signed up, it said (and i also got a letter to confirm).. That my estimated speed was 3.5mb..

      Now it was a brand new line and i'm about 2100meters from the exchange, from what i can tell on samknows..

      Now i know line distance / quality of line etc all affects these things..

      What i'm wondering is.. Is the 3.5mb speed estimate accurate, or could i expect more (or even less).. Even further than that, do Sky lock your connection to that estimated max speed (So u cant achieve any more). I guess i'll know better once it's activated, but i wouldnt mind an idea..

      Any help would be fantastic.

      p.s : Sky customer service has been brilliant so far, very pleased.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      I would not worrie just let ,

      Dsl checkers are not the best to use they are a rough guide so sit tight and see what happens ,

      Remember for the first 10 days you like will be getting changed and looked at by dml and this will " try " to give you the best connection that you line can take ,

      So just sit tight and keep them fingers crossed man .

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      What i'm wondering is.. Is the 3.5mb speed estimate accurate, or could i expect more (or even less).. Even further than that, do Sky lock your connection to that estimated max speed (So u cant achieve any more). I guess i'll know better once it's activated, but i wouldnt mind an idea..
      You really cannot go by a checker, do you know what your attenuation is at all? If so stick it in here.

      Sky User - ADSL2 Checker

      My check said 3.5 and in reality I get 7mb.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      Na my router hasn't synced yet. Also had to get line installed when i moved, as the house was renovated (years back). They didn't put a socket back afterwards lol.

      So the sky estimate means bugger all then really?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      It is not really possible to tell. The 2.1K will be a straight line distance which could be just about anything above that. So until you are actually activated, you will not know for sure. Sky sometimes underestimate the speed you will receive, so you might do better than they say.

      As a pure guess, allowing for your line length to be 150% of straight line, you will possibly get about 6-8Mb.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      I don't know what 2100metres is in terms of mileage. You, I would assume are nearer than me, so logic tells me you should get a higher speed. As I am about 3 - 3.5 miles away.

      The problem with checkers, is that they are powered by an out of date database. So most will under estimate, so as not to disappoint. Although your distance maybe 2100meters, in reality the telephone line could be 5 miles, it all depends on how it has been laid.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      It's around 1.3 miles.

      As you say though, could be 5 miles of line depending on what they laid.

      Ah well looks like a bit of a mystery until then .

      If i do get around 8mb, would i be able to get ADSL2+ and get more ? Whats the cutoff for that. Depends on what u sync or line attenuation u get once activated?

      Also if i meet those requirements, how so i wrangle my way onto it.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      I think all connection go on ADSL2+, now that DLM is automatically put on new connections. You don't have to wangle anything for Max, you just phone and ask to be upgraded..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      AndyDel's Avatar
      AndyDel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      Just something to add..

      I put in the phone number of the shop across the road from me.. When i say across the road.. I mean 5 paces and i'm in the shop.

      The sky checker said it can achieve 5mb. 2mb more than my estimate..

      Now if my broadband gets enabled, and say can only achieve the 3mb estimate.. Could i use that as a arguing point with BT or Sky to check my line.

      Interestly i asked a mate to do a test who has sky BB and gets 15mb speed, in the speed checker it only came back with an estimate of 6mb..

      Very odd.... I really hope i get 15mb.. Being married and having a kid on the way, high speed porn access couldn't come at a better time.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Signed upto SkyBB Max.. Slightly concerned.. Any help?

      Could i use that as a arguing point with BT or Sky to check my line.
      You could but I doubt it will do any good. BT are obliged to supply a voice line, they have no contractual requirement to make it suitable for Broadband. Sky may ask them to check it if your connection is really bad. Unfortunately you will be quoted the 'Up to' provision and unless it is really bad, continually dropping out or giving a speed of under 512Kbps, they are unlikely to do anything except refer you to BT, who will refer you back to Sky.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION