Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 15 of 15

    Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

    This is a discussion on Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for the input, will wait the 10 days and see what happens. David...

    1. #11
      Richedav's Avatar
      Richedav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01953
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

      Thanks for the input, will wait the 10 days and see what happens.

      David


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      stevvie's Avatar
      stevvie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bradwell Abbey (SMBA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      149
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

      I've come across this before What would cause this ?

    4. #13
      Richedav's Avatar
      Richedav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01953
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

      Been turning the router off at nights, no improvements at all.

      Have managed to sync another router to 6400 with the aim of forcing the IP profile to reset - again, no joy with that.

      My 10 days are up on Monday, and i will be calling Sky to ask them to refer the line back to BT Wholesale for a regrade.

      Is there an easy way to do this, or will i just have to slog it out with a tech rep who inists that my lines only able to take 2 mb and therefore wont raise a ticket.

      Any advice much appreciated.

      David

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

      There is not much you can do but, as you put it, slog it out. If you can get passed to CST there is a good chance you will get someone who understands what is going on. Unfortunately, Tier 1 do not appear to be trained for Connect problems and are liable to use the same technique as LLU, which does not work with Connect. At one time these were handled by Tier 2 but as it no longer exists, CST is your only hope. If you appear to be getting no where with the T1 agent, hang up and call back in the hope you get an understanding one. Calling after 10.30.pm is said to be the best time to call, you are less likely to be directed to the Phillippines.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Richedav's Avatar
      Richedav is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01953
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Moved 2 doors away, lost 6MB in speed

      Woot!!!

      Emailed customer service (as a cable fault, not slow speed) - explained the problem and posted stats. They raised a ticket, came home today and im getting 833k downloads with DAP.

      Thanks to all for their help and advise.

      David

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION