Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

    This is a discussion on Sky broadband and Acer Laptop within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Do the two work together? When i try to enter the network key the acer 5920 laptop will not accept ...

    1. #1
      Gary Jones's Avatar
      Gary Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01708
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      Do the two work together? When i try to enter the network key the acer 5920 laptop will not accept it. It says it needs a 5 or 13 digit key.

      Can anyone help solve this problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      Are running a pre-SP2 version of XP ?

    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      ive got that laptop... i type in with caps lock on?

      tried that?..

      also use the windows wifi network connection

      not acer wifi connection..

      i had that problem

    5. #4
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      What have you got?
      the Aspire One web book?

      If you do you might need to use WEP.

    6. #5
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      What have you got?
      the Aspire One web book?.
      Gary jones posted " the acer 5920 laptop "

      lol man you need to get some sleep

    7. #6
      Steven_Belfast's Avatar
      Steven_Belfast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      311
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      Your best bet man would be to login to the router page and remove the security from the router to see if it will connect then,

      If so then try WEP security or Mac filtering.

      But in saying that i find mac filtering can be a pain in the a**e,
      Depending on what wireless you are using ,
      If i use the intel software it keeps saying there is some problem with the connection but its working great ,
      I know its just informing me that its unprotected but its can get a bit tedious after a bit ,

      Or maybe its just me and i like to moan alot

    8. #7
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop


      Welcome Gary.


      I get the same error message as the Original Poster
      on an old (4 year) Sony Vaio XP laptop.
      (It is updated automatically by Windows.)
      It WILL connect if I have no security settings enabled.
      I have tried all three options.

      Curiously, I have used both an Acer Vista laptop and the
      Asus Santa Rosa Vista laptop and they connect
      without a problem and with the security enabled.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      5 and 13 digit codes are WEP, the first being 64 bit and the second 128 bit. Try resetting your router by pushing a biro point into the little hole at the back and hold it there until the lights flash, about 10 secs. Now go to the router wireless settings and note down the code given for WPA-PSK security. Reboot your laptop to clear previous settings and try to connect. The code you are given is all capital letters, no numbers, and must be entered as such. For the initial set up it is better to have the laptop a close to the router as possible, at least in clear sight. Make sure you are trying to connect to your own router by noting it's SSID.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      efhbroadband's Avatar
      efhbroadband is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: broadband uk
      Broadband ISP: broadband isp comparison
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      Initial set up it is better to have the laptop a close to the router as possible, at least in clear sight.

    11. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Sky broadband and Acer Laptop

      My Acer 5920 connected straight from the box once I'd entered the Encryption Code printed on the router (All capitals and no Numbers).

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION