Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

    This is a discussion on Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The other day I connected fine in my Dad's house, he is with Virgin Media. This was on my phone. ...

    1. #1
      Sephs's Avatar
      Sephs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

      The other day I connected fine in my Dad's house, he is with Virgin Media. This was on my phone.
      I have never used the Inet on my iTouch and I feel I'm missing out, and I'm not using it to its best ability.
      When I'm asked for a password, I have no idea what it is! I tried everything on the bottom of the router and I'm almost positive I received nothing with the router about a password or anything.
      I used to have a laptop and that wouldn't connect wirelessly either, so I never questioned it, but now I'm here looking for answers!

      Please help!

      With thanks, Sephs.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

      The network key or passphrase for the wireless is on the card and sticker on the router, by default it is a set of 8 letters, no numbers and is all in capitals. You must use capitals for it to work.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

      I think this is the crucial point when connecting iPhones and possibly other types of phone.
      You will have to ensure that you use the Shift Key before entering each character in order to enter the SSID in CAPS.

      In the OPs case his Dad probably does not have security enabled in his router, which he should set up asap.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,692
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

      I have an HTC TyTn smartphone that connects without a problem to the encrypted WiFi of my Sky router.

      One important additional point is to allow the WiFi in the phone to operate at maximum power - I've tried it with power saving 'on' and it just won't connect. It also doesn't have the range of a WiFi adaptor in a laptop possibly due to the antenna fitted in the phone.

    7. #6
      Sephs's Avatar
      Sephs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can't connect to Internet on my iTouch and N95?

      Thankyou so much. I did this and now the network is 'ticked', but where the little icon is supposed to be in the left corner, it isn't, and when trying to connect to safari, I can't, would anybody happen to know why? There is still a padlock on my network, but I'm not sure if that makes a difference.

      EDIT, FOLLOWED THE STEPS AGAIN AND IT'S NOW WORKING, THANKYOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP.
      Last edited by Sephs; 04-12-08 at 04:29 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION