Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Loss of speed

    This is a discussion on Loss of speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My Internet went funny for a little bit, so I restarted my router and I seem to have lost a ...

    1. #1
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loss of speed

      My Internet went funny for a little bit, so I restarted my router and I seem to have lost a fair chunk of speed (Not on DLM finished that a week or so ago) Here are my stats from a couple of days ago

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2702 kbps 746 kbps
      Line Attenuation 55.0 db 33.1 db
      Noise Margin 6.3 db 8.5 db


      And here are my stats now

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2117 kbps 582 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54.5 db 33.1 db
      Noise Margin 7.4 db 9.5 db


      Will it go back to what it was before or will I have to call sky........again????

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Can you get your stats from the tset socket? I suspect a line issue.

    4. #3
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      I'm affraid I don't have a test socket its an old faceplate, I'm plugged into the master socket tho

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Do you have any other extensions?

      Have you removed the ring wire?

    6. #5
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      I do have other extensions, but my wiring set up has not changed in the last month while my router has been connected. Not removed the ring no, don't really fancy doing that tho : S

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Dante_Heaven View Post
      I do have other extensions, but my wiring set up has not changed in the last month while my router has been connected. Not removed the ring no, don't really fancy doing that tho : S
      Oh go on, give it a go it's easy.

      (1) locate your master socket and remove any wire or wires connected to the terminal marked "3".

      (2) If you are not sure which is the master socket, remove any wire or wires connected to "3" on all your sockets

    8. #7
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      Oh go on, give it a go it's easy.

      (1) locate your master socket and remove any wire or wires connected to the terminal marked "3".

      (2) If you are not sure which is the master socket, remove any wire or wires connected to "3" on all your sockets
      What will removing the wires from terminal 3 do????

      Is terminal 3 the green wire, theres some pics of my socket here??

      Master Socket

    9. #8
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      The wire in terminal "3" is the orange one with the white bands. This is the ring wire and it may reduce the noise your broadband sees and maybe increase your speed. if in any doubt, remove both orange wires
      Last edited by Brian69; 30-11-08 at 09:43 PM.

    10. #9
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      The wire in terminal "3" is the orange one with the white bands. This is the ring wire and it may reduce the noise your broadband sees and maybe increase your speed.
      Do I just cut or something else????

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      just get hold of the orange with small white bands, and pull it out (pull away from the socket towards the back box)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION