Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Loss of speed

    This is a discussion on Loss of speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Brian69 just get hold of the orange with small white bands, and pull it out (pull away ...

    1. #11
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      just get hold of the orange with small white bands, and pull it out (pull away from the socket towards the back box)
      Can these always be put back into place if I **** it up?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      The only thing you have to be careful of is not to disturbe to two blue wires. The orange one could be put back, but you need an insertion tool to do it.
      There is plenty of slack wire on your socket so you should have no problem. Just pull off the wire coloured orange with small white bands which is connected to terminal "3"

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      You left the thread you linked back to 'hanging'. Did you find out where the Master socket was situated? As I mentioned, although it is a master faceplate, it probably is not the master. The master will have 2 cables going in/out.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      It might not have Tom if the others are feed from a junction somewhere. I hope Dante has not ripped off all the wires and cannot now connect

    6. #15
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      It might not have Tom if the others are feed from a junction somewhere. I hope Dante has not ripped off all the wires and cannot now connect
      Lol no I haven't tuched any of the wires, I do think it is the master, its the only socket in my house with an external wire going into it, and this appears to be the first point of where the out dorr line comes into my house.

      Still not sure why I have lost 700kb off my router stats, should I give sky a call?

    7. #16
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      You can ring Sky if you like, but they are not going to send someone round to pull off the ring wire (the orange with small white bands connected to "3") you will have to do it yourself

    8. #17
      Dante_Heaven's Avatar
      Dante_Heaven is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Brian69 View Post
      You can ring Sky if you like, but they are not going to send someone round to pull off the ring wire (the orange with small white bands connected to "3") you will have to do it yourself
      No I din't mean call sky to pull out my ring wire lol, I ment call them to see if they can do something with my line to give me back my old speed lol

    9. #18
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      I know you didn't, I meant that if you disconnected the ring line your sync speed may well increase and hence your throughput. This is not certain, but it will do no harm to try, you would not have to put the wire back whatever happens

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Loss of speed

      if the others are feed from a junction
      That's true Brian, but if it is, then it is not a true master socket. A little diagram of how the house extensions are connected would help.

      Either way, removing the ring wire from terminal 3 on all the extensions will almost definitely help. It is probably the only thing you might term a 'magic bullet' as far as broadband speed is concerned. I can only emphasise to the OP that removing it does no harm, he should take your advice.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION