Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Speed problems

    This is a discussion on Speed problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been having some issues with my partners laptop (using a wireless connection) and the 360 (which is wired) slowing ...

    1. #1
      RivaOni's Avatar
      RivaOni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed problems

      I've been having some issues with my partners laptop (using a wireless connection) and the 360 (which is wired) slowing each others connection down considerably when both are in use.

      I have no idea how to resolve this issue, there is no speed conflicts when the desktop PC and laptop are on, nor the 360 and desktop PC, just problems between the laptop and 360 sharing a connection.

      I know that the speeds will be a bit slower when the 360 is online, but the laptop refuses to find any pages (despite the connection symbol down by the clock on the taskbar showing a healthy connection), we never had this problem on our old Tiscali connection (although we had other, bigger problems but they were with the company themselves and not the connection) which was a slower overall connection (max 2mb rather than max 8mb like we have with Sky).

      Anybody know what could be causing this problem, as I find it all a bit odd.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Does it give the same problem when the laptop is used wired?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      RivaOni's Avatar
      RivaOni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Not tried, theres not enough ports on the Sagem router for everything to be wired, plus its not practical for my partner to do her coursework on.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      But for a test it would rule out any other problems so it's worth a try. Let us know what happens.

    6. #5
      RivaOni's Avatar
      RivaOni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      OK, tested it wired to the modem, and theres no speed conflict at all, it runs as it would if the 360 wasn't connected (even sat in a lobby with some friends on the 360 to test with content coming through the connection), so not sure whats going on there.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      It looks like the wireless signal does not have enough quality to maintain the connection. Try changing the channel on the router and see if it makes any difference. Experiment with the channels till you find the best one. No 13 is sometimes a good bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      RivaOni's Avatar
      RivaOni is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      And how would I change the channel on the Sagem router?

      EDIT.

      Nevermind, found how to do it, will see if that works at all.

      EDIT #2:

      Changing the channel completely disabled her internet connection, is there something I need to do on the laptop once the channel has been changed?
      Last edited by RivaOni; 29-11-08 at 10:28 AM.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      Just rediscover networks. If there is still no connection discovered, try another channel. It is a bit of a bind working your way through the Channels, some of which may not even work, but if it improves the situation it will be worth it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      If you just have the xbox 360 and desktop pc connected then you should have another 2 ethernet ports on your router, you should try the laptop wired.

      Apart from that make sure the laptop doesnt have filesharing programs open or instant messaging applications etc

      Goodluck, Misfit96

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Speed problems

      ^^^^^
      He has already done that, the problem is with the wireless connection.
      OK, tested it wired to the modem, and theres no speed conflict at all,

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION