Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

    This is a discussion on Shambolic service trying to move to Sky within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What a hassle I'm having switching from Pipex to Sky, for my broadband. Decided to sign up with Sky for ...

    1. #1
      afc69's Avatar
      afc69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aberdeen westhill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      What a hassle I'm having switching from Pipex to Sky, for my broadband.

      Decided to sign up with Sky for line rental, anytime phone calls, plus “mid” package broadband, all for £62.50/month, which includes the £40 for TV.

      Did all that on Nov 4th, got the mac code from Pipex, Sky have since had a problem with BT in getting them to relinquish the line rental, and say the broadband can’t be activated till this happens, which will be 10 days after the line rental is taken over.

      In the meantime, today, Pipex cancelled my internet connection, and I’m left with no broadband.

      Anybody else had hassle switching internet providers, or is it just Sky?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      I wouls advise keeping your line rental with BT, Sky can be a bit of a pain if you have a phone fault as they don't want to pay BT for an engineers visit and can go around the houses before eventually getting them in.

    4. #3
      afc69's Avatar
      afc69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aberdeen westhill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      Thing I don't get is that Sky are telling me they can't activate broadband, till they get the line rental from BT.

      BUT, you can chose to take Sky broadband but have line rental from another provider. So, I don't get Sky's stance on this at all.

      Wish I'd left things as they were. Wife need b/band for work, and now we have no b/band at all. Even if it does happen, the wife has a VPN connection, and what's the odds that I'll get a Sagem router which won't support VPNs.

      Sky are the Arnold Clark of the internet industry.

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      When you signed up for line rental with Sky, they contact Openreach, to do the Job, who then tell BT, Are you still under contract with BT? have they contacted you? Do you have an outstanding balance with BT?. That should not make any differance, but BT have been known to drag their heels while they sort the account.
      It's not Skys fault, you asked them to take over your line and they cannot provide BB untill they have. I know Sky are a bit cheaper than BT for line rental, but you will have a delay untill BT release the line to Sky.

    6. #5
      afc69's Avatar
      afc69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aberdeen westhill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      Brian, Sky told me that there were still "open orders" on my BT line. I contacted BT, who removed these "open orders", and I thought all would then be plain sailing. Alas, not.

      An open order is apparently when another company, other than SKY, have been tasked with taking over the line rental from Sky, which I know nothing about.

      Thing that gets me about Sky is that they have never, at any time, called me to explain the delay. I've spent numerous lunchbreaks on the phone to these numbskulls, at my expense.
      Last edited by afc69; 27-11-08 at 10:36 PM.

    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Shambolic service trying to move to Sky

      If you are sure that is the case, then you need to get back on to Sky (I know)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION