Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

    This is a discussion on Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Update on this... I've spoke with Sky who assigned this call to their handover team, they are now telling me ...

    1. #11
      Russell's Avatar
      Russell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Update on this...

      I've spoke with Sky who assigned this call to their handover team, they are now telling me this is due to a faulty adsl cable, I'm not overly sure that's the case if I'm honest.

      Anyway they're going to send me a newer black Netgear router out so will see what happens with that, to be honest I haven't really thought much of their support.

      I have asked for this call to be left open until the router is received and tested.

      Has anyone ever had this kind of issue due to a "faulty" adsl cable???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      What are your stats like now, did they make changes ? I have known of issue with the ADSL lead, thats mainly noise, I have known of one slow speed, but that was resolved by turning the cable around (Dirty contact)

    4. #13
      Russell's Avatar
      Russell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      What are your stats like now, did they make changes ? I have known of issue with the ADSL lead, thats mainly noise, I have known of one slow speed, but that was resolved by turning the cable around (Dirty contact)
      I'm not at home at the moment but since speaking with Sky my downstream is around 135k and hasn't gone above 200k since.

    5. #14
      Russell's Avatar
      Russell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Right, new router installed, running of the master socket, speed has improved slightly, any suggestions...

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 12465 18077 0 4287 44037 00:08:04
      LAN 100M/Full 17359 11005 0 19401 1436 00:17:23
      WLAN 11M/54M 8063 6826 0 5699 2220 00:17:09
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 973 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63 db 14.5 db
      Noise Margin 9 db 11 db

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Assuming that you dont have any extension sockets, just the master, and bearing in mind that your noise margin is only 9dB then your attenuation is a lot more than the 63db shown (this is normal for ADSL, routers only indicate up to 63dB)
      Its prob as good as it is going to get

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Have you tried it in the Test socket with the new router?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      dt101187's Avatar
      dt101187 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      line stats show that ur line will handle at most one Mb if u have never called sky then its because of dlm that ur line has been capped, make sure you tell the cst agent to suspend dlm

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      the line isn't capped, or if it is only very slightly...the main thing is being on adsl2+ - get this changed and it should go up a bit, but not a lot...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Very slow speed with Sky Mid, help needed please...

      Do you have the DG834GT? If so it allows you to take more comprehensive stats, which may be useful. As IANTE says, ask to be put on to G.DMT, ADSL2+ is pretty useless on a long line like yours.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION