Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    New to Sky BB - slow connection....

    This is a discussion on New to Sky BB - slow connection.... within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I joined Sky BB Mid about 3 weeks ago. During the first few days, my download speed was around 1.9. ...

    1. #1
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      I joined Sky BB Mid about 3 weeks ago.
      During the first few days, my download speed was around 1.9. Nothing new there since it was the same with my previous isp.
      Ove the last few days, I've noticed it getting slower.
      My Sky router is one of the black sagem types.
      I'm using all sky leads/cables etc.
      The router is showing the following details:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 761 kbps 412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.5 db 27.1 db
      Noise Margin 9.6 db 22.5 db

      I've tried changing filters and still no increase.
      I've plugged the router directly into the BT master test socket, and still no increase.
      Any ideas of why I was originally getting normal (in my eyes..) speeds, only for it to drop badly now???

      thanks in advance
      Colin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      I know you say you plugged into the test socket and got the same result, but can you do it again and post the result?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      Yes I will.
      I'll do that when I get home tonight.

      I've been reading the forum alot last night and noticed this DLM thing.....I cant help but wonder if they have put some kind of cap on me........

      Anyway, I'll repost before and after master socket tests later

      thanks
      Colin

    5. #4
      misfit96's Avatar
      misfit96 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      Belfast, NI
      Posts
      415
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      DLM is not a line cap =P

      I work at sky and trust me the DLM is a benefit for the customer. It finds out how stable your broadband connection is over 10-20 days(so try not to power cycle or reset your modem while DLM is active) and if it logs alot of errors/disconnections then it lowers the speed until the all of signal being sent down the line is being received and no errors are being created on the line. Unfortunately in extreme cases this can lower your trained download speed to 0.1mbs if thats as much as it believes your line can take. If this is the case you just need to phone sky tech support and go through troubleshooting, CST will be able to increase the speed being sent down your line. PLEASE REMEMBER THIS CAN CAUSE MORE PROBLEMS e.g intermittent connection.

      If you do plan to call sky tech support(free from skytalk) then make sure you are connected to your test socket, you have no extension cables and all telephony devices in your house go through a microfilter(it will save you from having to call back).

      Also please be aware that while the DLM is still active CST most likely wont make adjustments until it has been completed.

      Good luck with getting your connection issues resolved anyway

      Misfit96

    6. #5
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      Misfit96
      Thanks, guess I need to understand DLM and Capping rather than just read it!!

      Anyway, some facts that may make things clearer....
      My BB was activated in the 13th of November, so could DLM still be running?
      If it could be, is there a way to know if it is?
      I know since I got activated, the router has been switched off/on probably about 2 or 3 times in total.
      Also, should I have to contact CS, whats the telephone number that I use whereby I wont get charged? (I do have the Sky talk package)

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      08442 410 515 option 2 for BB option 5 for tech support tier 1. They can tell you whether or not DLM is running, what the current line config is and what needs to be done.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      Take your Test socket stats first. I think you are capped in some way, either automatically or manually, so you will not see a rise in connection speed. What you are hoping to see is a very large rise in the Noise margin. This would indicate a fault in your internal wiring. If you don't see a rise then the fault is in your external line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      chanlon1's Avatar
      chanlon1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NIBA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      OK, so I performed some more tests and the below are the results:

      These are results from where the router normally sits, (not connected to Master Socket)
      Code:
      ADSL Link  		Downstream  	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	761 kbps 	412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	50.5 db 	27.1 db
      Noise Margin 		11.2 db 	22.5 db
      I then rebooted the router to see if it made a difference (nb: it is still not on Master Socket)
      Code:
      ADSL Link  		Downstream  	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	761 kbps 	412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	50.0 db 	27.1 db
      Noise Margin 		8.1 db 		22.5 db
      Finally I connected it to the Master Socket
      Code:
      ADSL Link  		Downstream  	Upstream
      Connection Speed 	761 kbps 	412 kbps
      Line Attenuation 	50.0 db 	26.9 db
      Noise Margin 		13.8 db 	22.5 db
      Can anyone make head nor tail of these for me?

      As I stated in a previous post, I was only activated on the 13th Nov, so not sure if DLM is still running.

      Many thanks
      Colin

    10. #9
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      DLM is always running - it's whether it's monitoring the connection or not...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New to Sky BB - slow connection....

      Your noise margin rises in the Master socket, but not by enough. You really need to try the Test Socket This isolates your internal wiring and so bypasses any faults. As it stands your line may give another 5-600kbps, uncapped. It should really be much more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION