Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky Modem Wireless only ?

    This is a discussion on Sky Modem Wireless only ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am contenplating moving over to Sky B/B as it would be cheaper than my current supplier. At present I ...

    1. #1
      KW52's Avatar
      KW52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cross Hands
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      I am contenplating moving over to Sky B/B as it would be cheaper than my current supplier.
      At present I have several pc`s wire connected via Belkin modem/router and one other via wireless.
      If I join Sky do I have to go wireless for all pc`s or can I connect my Belkin to the Sky modem?
      Also is wireless slower or faster than wire ?

      Any advise is much appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      You can connect upto 4 pc's via ethernet to the sky router.
      I'm not sure but I think you would be able to connect the Belkin to one of the ports, it may need some settings changing - one of the network whizzes will advise.
      Wireless is usually slower than a wired connection.
      Last edited by dholdi; 22-11-08 at 08:51 PM.


    4. #3
      KW52's Avatar
      KW52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cross Hands
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Thanks for that.

      Does that mean then that going with Sky would actually make my internet slower than it is now, which is only about 1.5gb ?

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Quote Originally Posted by KW52 View Post
      Does that mean then that going with Sky would actually make my internet slower than it is now, which is only about 1.5gb ?
      Why do you say that ?
      If you could post stats from your current router we could afvise on what you should get with sky.


    6. #5
      KW52's Avatar
      KW52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cross Hands
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Not sure if this is the correct info, got it from 192.168.2.1 Internet settings ?

      Data Rate
      Downstream/Upstream 5248Kb/832Kb

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      That shows you are syncing at just over 5meg.
      Is the 1.5 you mentioned earlier via a wireless speedtest ?
      It's your line attenuation and noise margin which will tell us the most.


    8. #7
      KW52's Avatar
      KW52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cross Hands
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      That shows you are syncing at just over 5meg.
      Is the 1.5 you mentioned earlier via a wireless speedtest ?
      It's your line attenuation and noise margin which will tell us the most.

      Have had alook at modem page cannot find anything relating to the noise/line attenuater.
      Belkin F5D7630uk4A I think.
      Where do I look ?

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Not sure as I've never used that router, in the sky router there is a show statistics button. I guess you need to be looking for something similar.


    10. #9
      KW52's Avatar
      KW52 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cross Hands
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      Thanks anyway for your help.
      Maybe someone else will know||||

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sky Modem Wireless only ?

      your upstream will be lower - Sky maximum is 768kbps on Max, 416kbps on Base/Mid...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION