Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 36

    Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

    This is a discussion on Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; So, they're elevating me to the higher technical support line, they told me to wait 5 mins on hold. 15mins ...

    1. #21
      nasser.C's Avatar
      nasser.C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      So, they're elevating me to the higher technical support line, they told me to wait 5 mins on hold. 15mins went by and I'm still on hold.

      Decided to close the phone and call later, it's so irritating

      It's been almost 5 and a half hours, I'm going to call them tomorrow. I have more important things to do right now than wasting my time and getting nowhere.

      Oh, and I want to say thank you all for your help.
      Last edited by nasser.C; 23-11-08 at 04:19 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      I believe calling late in the evening is the best time, as things are quieter and you are more likely to get a UK agent.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      nasser.C's Avatar
      nasser.C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      Please excuse my language but, Fu**ing useless they are, I've called at least 6 times, each time they tell me they're going to transfer the call to the customer solutions line they put me on hold, and after a few minutes they just hang up on me!

      WTF?!

      Now it's just getting worse. When I DL something I'm not even getting 56K!, my highest speed was probably 39K. My internet is just spazzing out now, and everything is loading ridiculously slow.

      I feel hopeless right now.

    5. #24
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      As Isitme Says try late in the evening. After 2230

    6. #25
      naza911's Avatar
      naza911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Birmingham UK
      Posts
      188
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      Quote Originally Posted by nasser.C View Post
      No, I don't have one of those, sorry.
      You should have one with your Sky box for connecting to the phone line. Just unplug it from the sky box and use it for your modem. Give that a shot on the test socket.

    7. #26
      nasser.C's Avatar
      nasser.C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      Quote Originally Posted by naza911 View Post
      You should have one with your Sky box for connecting to the phone line. Just unplug it from the sky box and use it for your modem. Give that a shot on the test socket.
      Ok, I did that but it's still the reading the same stats. Would it help if I rebooted my router?

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      When you moved the cables this would re-sync you with the exchange, which is virtually the same as booting the router. There is no reason why you should not reboot though, anything is worth a try. Some may say that if DLM is on your line it may effect that, but your speed is so low, I can't see that it would matter.

      Getting Sky to investigate your line is still the best bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      nasser.C's Avatar
      nasser.C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      When you moved the cables this would re-sync you with the exchange, which is virtually the same as booting the router. There is no reason why you should not reboot though, anything is worth a try. Some may say that if DLM is on your line it may effect that, but your speed is so low, I can't see that it would matter.

      Getting Sky to investigate your line is still the best bet.
      What does DLM stand for? I've been seeing it a lot around these forums and it seems like a bad thing

      Also, I've tried and tried to get through to to Customer solutions line but I never seem to have any luck. I will try again tonight, though.

      I've also noticed that the stats on my router aren't an accurate representation of my actual download speed (barely 56k). The stats also seem to be locked at a speed of 379 - 378/ 409 - 412 (Down/up).

      *sigh*

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      DLM = Dynamic Line Management. A system that constantly alters the configuration of the line to give the best possible stable speed. Unfortunately it does not work too well on some lines and leaves them in a poorer state than before it was run. I don't think it is responsible for your low speed, if it was, you would have a much higher noise margin.

      Call after 10.30 pm as suggested.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      nasser.C's Avatar
      nasser.C is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Really bad speed issues with Sky BB Max

      I got through *cue happy emotional music*

      I called at approximately 8:25pm, first I got a Filipino guy, he then (kindly) put me through to customer solutions in less than 6 minutes

      The guy on customer solutions was English (thank god!(not being racist or anything ).

      I explained my situation quickly, he understood. I gave him my reference number, (or ticket number, whatever) he pulled out the files and said he was going to put my speed up to 2 - 3Mb. (I agreed, anything is better than what I had then )

      So, it's all fixed now but the sad thing is I never got to thank the man, since I was abruptly cut off in the middle of the conversation.

      Edit: If anyone read that, never mind. I changed my mind.
      Last edited by nasser.C; 26-11-08 at 10:15 PM.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION