Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    IT Professional here!

    This is a discussion on IT Professional here! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; any help needed guys drop me a line, im an IT professional and support technician and can help with almost ...

    1. #1
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up IT Professional here!

      any help needed guys drop me a line, im an IT professional and support technician and can help with almost any computer based or broadband topics. send me an e-mail an i will get back ASAP to answer it personally.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      sky: moved house


      ok i have the sagem 2504 sky wireless router and idk whats going on

      i moved house 3 weeks ago, sky sent a letter saying that my broadband will be up and running by the end of today, what time is that supposed to mean?

      monday night at 1.30am the internet started to blink amber and then go soilid amber for a while then it just goes off and it hasnt stopped doing that since

      it just keeps blinking amber and then going solid amber and then it just goes off and after comes back and does the same thing

      i have checked my phone line and it gives a clear tone so its not the line

      is sky not activated yet or is it something else?

      and what does end of today mean? midnight?

      all help needed

      thanks!

    4. #3
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: IT Professional here!

      hi, ok what happens is your broadband will take anything up to midnight to activate on the day of activation. if you have moved home then you need to update sky with your new phone number if thats not the case then ignore that part. youe interne tlight is flashing amber then off again probably becuse you have the router plugged into an extension telephone socket NOT the master BT phone socket! if thats not the case then make sure you have a phone filter on each phone point that gets used in the house. if that still doesnt work then phone through to sky and a ticket will be raised for tier 3 to investagate the problem, most likley a line issue or exchange fault.

    5. #4
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      well the thing is it goes solid amber for about 5-10 secs and then goes off

      i did a sky test while it was flashing and it said "ADSL training"

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      Quote Originally Posted by Jay33 View Post
      youe interne tlight is flashing amber then off again probably becuse you have the router plugged into an extension telephone socket NOT the master BT phone socket!
      Flashing orange = the router cant sync with the exchange.
      Probably not enabled yet or a fault.


    7. #6
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      i also got a letter saying that it should be active by the end of today

      so this means i got until 12am before it goes online?

      coz it started to flash yesterday at 1.30am

    8. #7
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      yeh, ADSL training means its either not yet fully active or the line is finding its feet still. leave it until 2moro and see how it goes, if its still the same check the setup, if still no diffrence then contact Sky as it will be in the hands of ur ISP (internet service provider) let me know how you get on.

    9. #8
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      and btw it flashes orange then goes solid orange for 5-10 secs then goes off and does the same after

      been doing it for around 22 hours

    10. #9
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      will do and thanks for the help

      at least know i have a rough idea of whats happening :P

      thanks, and ye ill post on here when its up and running

      sky is a good provider, dont mind them its just reconnecting broadband and getting it which is a pain

    11. #10
      Jay33's Avatar
      Jay33 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01383
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IT Professional here!

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Flashing orange = the router cant sync with the exchange.
      Probably not enabled yet or a fault.
      no, to a point thats true. however the physics of an extension socket compared to a master socket (copper vs aluminum) are very diffrent and can cause no data xfer through the line resulting in this problem too. but further faults can indicate a fault at the exchange possibly with the DSLAM or port ID.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION