Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    sky: moved house

    This is a discussion on sky: moved house within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ok i have the sagem 2504 sky wireless router and idk whats going on i moved house 3 weeks ago, ...

    1. #1
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky: moved house

      ok i have the sagem 2504 sky wireless router and idk whats going on

      i moved house 3 weeks ago, sky sent a letter saying that my broadband will be up and running by the end of today, what time is that supposed to mean?

      monday night at 1.30am the internet started to blink amber and then go soilid amber for a while then it just goes off and it hasnt stopped doing that since

      it just keeps blinking amber and then going solid amber and then it just goes off and after comes back and does the same thing

      i have checked my phone line and it gives a clear tone so its not the line

      is sky not activated yet or is it something else?

      and what does end of today mean? midnight?

      all help needed

      thanks!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      help!

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      Can't see what help anyone can offer yet. It's only 20 past 6.

      Connections can happen late into the evening. If the engineers don't get everything done tonight then they'll probably leave it until the morning. If you don't have a connection by mid morning tomorrow, post back - although I suspect calling Sky should be your first job.

    5. #4
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      well is it that? coz wouldnt the light just stay off completely?

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      Could be working on it - could be a fault. Until you know the former isn't true there's no point in trying to fix the latter.

    7. #6
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      well its been doing this for well over 12 hrs now

      sky did say it should be running by the end of tuesday 18th november and yesterday night at 1am the internet light started to blink amber and go solid amber then turn off after a few secs
      Last edited by hellz; 18-11-08 at 08:24 PM.

    8. #7
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      i just want to know what is going on

      is my sky broadband account active or not? is it something else?

      idk

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      As it's not the end of Tuesday yet there is little you can do. It may be that the exchange work is done but they have to re-apply your user details etc.

      As you have been advised wait until noon Wed and then give them a ring.

      Remember Tuesday doesn't end until 00:00.01

    10. #9
      hellz's Avatar
      hellz is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      oh yeah when i did "sky test" on the router's setup page

      it said "ASDL line training"

      what does that mean?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: sky: moved house

      I think it means what it says. The line is in a training phase. Try resetting your router by pushing a pin into the little hole at the back. Hold it there for about 10 secs or until the lights flash. If it still does not connect, switch the power off for 30 mins, then switch it on again. If that does not work, try again in the morning and if it is still not working phone Sky. You might not get anywhere as Sky usually say the connection can take +3 days after activation to go live.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION