Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Another Could I Synch faster question

    This is a discussion on Another Could I Synch faster question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, Just noticed that after DLM my stats have been fairly consistent (up/down speeds) and that my noise seems ...

    1. #1
      colinAAA's Avatar
      colinAAA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another Could I Synch faster question

      Hi there,

      Just noticed that after DLM my stats have been fairly consistent (up/down speeds) and that my noise seems high, attenuation low: leading me to think my line may be capped due to earlier errors on my line pre my wiring fixes.

      The stats (can only obtain simple stats at the moment) are as follows:

      System Up Time 341:33:46

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time

      WAN PPPoA 3700 4026 0 764 4751 00:13:16
      LAN 10M/100M 3401264 2509601 0 3314 489 341:33:44
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream

      Connection Speed 4096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 39.0 db 24.5 db
      Noise Margin 18.0 db 13.0 db

      Thanks in advance


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Looking at the connection you should be able to get better speeds from your line. As you have rightly said you are capped.

      Give CST a call for a slow speed and they should be able to uncap you.

      08442 410515 is the number

    4. #3
      colinAAA's Avatar
      colinAAA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Thank you very much!

    5. #4
      colinAAA's Avatar
      colinAAA is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Just a follow up really. Not long on the phone to Sky. Their support was fantastic. Connection speed was increased and max delays decreased due to the improvements on my line, and I'm a very happy bunny.

      Just thought I'd report back when things go well (as we all too often make ourselves heard when things are not working out). Thank you Sky.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      I'll say it again, I wonder how many lines have been left worse off by DLM and it has not been noticed/reported. Don't Sky have before/after figures for the lines they 'fixed'?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      BestMasterchief's Avatar
      BestMasterchief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pontypool SWPP
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      pontypool
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Hey
      Iv posted several times about slow latency and slow connection and recently I rung sky and they actually put me through to tier 3 for once
      Basically I couldn’t hear her very well but she said she has put my max delay ping to 16ms instead of 32ms as they have to do a test first and then I have to ring again to get it put even lower again. Basically I was happy until I turned my router off and on again, my ping speeds are much faster but for some reason my connection speed is now 5mb or lower!
      Is this normal or did she cap my connection speed as well???
      Cheers for any replies.
      Last edited by BestMasterchief; 22-11-08 at 03:06 PM.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      but for some reason my connection speed is not 5mb or lower!
      Has your speed went down? From this it seems it has gone up. This would be unusual as sometimes when the delay is reduced, the speed is also reduced to stabilise the line.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      BestMasterchief's Avatar
      BestMasterchief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pontypool SWPP
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      pontypool
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Has your speed went down? From this it seems it has gone up. This would be unusual as sometimes when the delay is reduced, the speed is also reduced to stabilise the line.
      Sorry I put the word in, so they do cap then when you ask for lowered max delay ping? and also could I get them to remove this cap afterwards

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Usually agents will only cap you if your line needs it, I suppose this one may have done it for safety to avoid call backs. If you post your current stats, they will show if your connection is capped and if it is worth asking for it to be moved.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      BestMasterchief's Avatar
      BestMasterchief is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: pontypool SWPP
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      pontypool
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Another Could I Synch faster question

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Usually agents will only cap you if your line needs it, I suppose this one may have done it for safety to avoid call backs. If you post your current stats, they will show if your connection is capped and if it is worth asking for it to be moved.
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4288 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 42.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.5 db 14.0 db

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION