Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Need help with connection

    This is a discussion on Need help with connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey, im new to the forum and need a bit of help. Firstly, i am not with Sky but with ...

    1. #1
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Need help with connection

      Hey, im new to the forum and need a bit of help. Firstly, i am not with Sky but with O2 Broadband. The main reason i am using this forum because there are many more users active and its friendly

      Ok, are my line stats alright or do you think i could squeeze more out of my line? By the way, the noise margin is only 3.0db because that is what i told O2 to set it to.

      Im also thinking about buiyng a D link 2740b router as i heard it usually syncs higher than the Thomson 585v7 supplied by O2.

      Uptime: 0 days, 1:05:53

      DSL Type: G.992.5 annex A

      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]: 1,325 / 8,121

      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]: 0.00 / 0.00

      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]: 12.0 / 18.5

      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 21.5 / 40.5

      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 4.5 / 3.5

      Vendor ID (Local/Remote): TMMB / BDCM

      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Power (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      Loss of Link (Remote): 0

      Error Seconds (Local/Remote): 0 / 0

      FEC Errors (Up/Down): 40 / 55,478

      CRC Errors (Up/Down): 40 / 99

      HEC Errors (Up/Down): 2,381 / 70


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Need help with connection

      With a very low noise margin I think your line is stretched to it's limit. You are already showing several line errors, which would only get worse if you try to squeeze more out of it.
      Have you had a look at our Cable and faceplate section where there are lots of tips on improving your connection.
      Cabling and faceplate help

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with connection

      Ok mate, i'll have a look. Is it really worthwile getting an ADSLNATION XTE-2005 (or something) faceplate? I am already using the professional Xf-e1 filter and am connected to the test socket.

    5. #4
      Rahat786786's Avatar
      Rahat786786 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ilford
      Broadband ISP: O2 Broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with connection

      Do you think that a new router may result in a better sync?

    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Need help with connection

      If you are already using the test socket then there is little else to be done. A differant router may get you a little more speed, but as has already been said, you are running too fast as it is.

    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Need help with connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Rahat786786 View Post
      Do you think that a new router may result in a better sync?
      Highly doubt it.

      Your Snr's are far too low & there are quite a lot of errors on your line.
      I'm suprised you havn't had an intermittent connection.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION