Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

    This is a discussion on new to sky bb on max question on speed etc within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; i have just joined sky max bb and still under me ten days till my line settles, how ever on ...

    1. #1
      funkyfella's Avatar
      funkyfella is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01945
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      i have just joined sky max bb and still under me ten days till my line settles,

      how ever on the first 3 days i was reaching speeds on 7mbps now im lucky to get 4 mbps

      here are my stats from my router

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5020 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.5 db 11.8 db
      Noise Margin 10.7 db 14.5 db


      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 5020
      UpStream Connection Speed 796
      VPI 0
      VCI 38


      i am wireless and plugged into router into test socket i have tried wired but speeds are even worst


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      796 up suggests you are on DLM. Try not to disconnect the router during this process as it will see it as a problem and reduce the sync to try and compensate for it. I believe once the process is complete you can ring up and have things set back to how you want them - kinda defeats the object of doing it but heyho who am I to argue.


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      Your connection speed +attenuation + noise margin suggest you have noise on your line. Are your sure you are in the Test socket? Your attenuation should give you 14-16Mb, you are no where near this, so if you are in the Test socket with all other extension sockets dead, you have a fault on your external phone line.

      Sky User - Help and Support for Sky and Sky Broadband - How to test your Master Socket

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      So not dlm then ? I thought the dlm process raised the NM to stabilise the line which consequently lowers the sync ? If not on DLM, tho again I thought 796 upload is an indicator, then I agree regarding the line noise issue.


    6. #5
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      The OP is on DLM. Have you switched the router off since connecting (this shows an unstable line)? as dholdi says it drops the sync to raise the snrs to make a more stable line.

    7. #6
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      So not dlm then ? I thought the dlm process raised the NM to stabilise the line which consequently lowers the sync ? If not on DLM, tho again I thought 796 upload is an indicator, then I agree regarding the line noise issue.
      You were correct the first time.
      Yes the line is on DLM.

      Noisemargin will be around 10.

      If you keep the router turned on, hopefully the speed will increase.
      If not then Give sky a Call and see if they can up it.
      But they will need to whack DLM back on to monitor the line.



    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      OK so DLM is on the line, but if the line were performing properly with no noise problems, the noise margin would be in the 30s, not 10dbs. With that figure the maximum the line would support is about 6000kbps, which is nonsense. The OP needs to look into problems on his line. The fact that the line has DLM on it has nothing to do with the main problem.
      Last edited by Isitme; 15-11-08 at 12:37 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      funkyfella's Avatar
      funkyfella is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01945
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      ok thanks very much for all your answers i was connected to sky bb on the 6nov so still inside the 10 days at the mo , for the first couple of days i was reaching speeds of up to around 8mb now i lucky to push 4 mbs , i live in newly built house which is 2 years old and the exchange is bout 1 mile as the crow flies . guess will have to wait till me 10 days are up till i starting chasing sky up .

    10. #9
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      OK so DLM is on the line, but if the line were performing properly with no noise problems, the noise margin would be in the 30s, not 10dbs. With that figure the maximum the line would support is about 6000kbps, which is nonsense. The OP needs to look into problems on his line. The fact that the line has DLM on it has nothing to do with the main problem.
      Quite true, late posting last night after a long day so did not really concentrate. Sorry :-(

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: new to sky bb on max question on speed etc

      Quote Originally Posted by funkyfella View Post
      ok thanks very much for all your answers i was connected to sky bb on the 6nov so still inside the 10 days at the mo , for the first couple of days i was reaching speeds of up to around 8mb now i lucky to push 4 mbs , i live in newly built house which is 2 years old and the exchange is bout 1 mile as the crow flies . guess will have to wait till me 10 days are up till i starting chasing sky up .
      I picked up on the DLM without really concentrating on the stats, Isitme is quite right in saying you seem to have a noisy line. As he says you should ensure that you are in the test socket with no other equipment connected. If there is no improvement then the fault could well be external. How are your voice calls, do you hear any noise when making calls? If so then you ned to get BT to check out your line.
      PS There isnt a 10 day training period for max, that only applies to connect. How long DLM will run for, I'm not sure, did you get any info about this when you joined ? If so it would be interesting to hear what they say.


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION