Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 39

    Slow speeds please try and help

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds please try and help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; That is why we need to see the stats from the test socket to rule out internal wiring before we ...

    1. #21
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      That is why we need to see the stats from the test socket to rule out internal wiring before we can go any further.

      Most issues like these turn out to be internal to the property with either poorly fitted extensions or faulty leads and can be repaired without too much hassle or technical knowledge.

      For the rest we have Brian


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      2shay's Avatar
      2shay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      i have moved router down stairs heres my stats with filter in test socket

      WAN PPPoA 1065 1315 0 897 6519 00:03:22
      LAN 100M/Full 640 0 0 21 0 00:59:46
      WLAN 11M/54M 3051 3010 0 640 116 00:59:34
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2560 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 54 db 31 db
      Noise Margin 1 db 14 db

    4. #23
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      looks like the falling-SNR issue apparently affecting those with the V2 Netgear...you had the new FW yet? you should be getting more than 2.5Mbps with that attenuation - nearer 3Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #24
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      Now can you try a line noise test.

      (1) with the router synced and still at the test socket, pick up the phone a dial a single digit to kill the dial tone. You should now here just a low hiss, no crackle or pops, and the router sync should not change.

    6. #25
      2shay's Avatar
      2shay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      just done what you have said just a low hiss sound

      how do i know if i have the latest fw

    7. #26
      HamMan's Avatar
      HamMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fareham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Gosport, Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      I am on Sky Base, but because of my distance from the exchange (so I have been told) the maximum download speed I could get was 800K. I have fitted a BT IPlate and the speed has doubled! Its worth a try for a 'tenner'.

    8. #27
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      Quote Originally Posted by 2shay View Post
      just done what you have said just a low hiss sound

      how do i know if i have the latest fw
      log into your router and on the first page that loads up it'll say which you have...the old one was V2.02.34, the new is V2.02.44...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #28
      2shay's Avatar
      2shay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      i have the V2.02.44

    10. #29
      2shay's Avatar
      2shay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      Quote Originally Posted by HamMan View Post
      I am on Sky Base, but because of my distance from the exchange (so I have been told) the maximum download speed I could get was 800K. I have fitted a BT IPlate and the speed has doubled! Its worth a try for a 'tenner'.
      where abouts did u get this iplate im in soton and see you are in gosport

    11. #30
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds please try and help

      easier just to remove wire '3' from the back of your faceplate - does the same job...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION