Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

    This is a discussion on i feel my connection is too slow for the sync within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hey ppl havent done a thread for ages... but anyway i feel webpages are loading to slow for what my ...

    1. #1
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      hey ppl

      havent done a thread for ages...

      but anyway i feel webpages are loading to slow for what my router has synced in at

      especally on bbc.co.uk/news.. takes a while to load

      and wikipedia as well...

      i had this problem just after my line was regraded by sky! but its been ok but since wednesday.. its come back

      is it to do with ping? or something else?

      thanks...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      Router stats?

      Have you tried running a Netstat to see how many connections are open?

      Are you wireless or Wired?

    4. #3
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      Router stats?

      Have you tried running a Netstat to see how many connections are open?

      Are you wireless or Wired?
      thanks for speedy reply...

      connected by yellow ethernet cable...

      only my laptop... dont play online on ps3 as its painful...

      and nope havent used netstat

      stats ..

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2560 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.4 db 13.0 db

    5. #4
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      can someone on here that works for sky uncap me?

      or will i have to phone for this

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      You do not appear to be capped, your noise margin is too low. If you were, your noise margin would be much higher. For a 63.5+ attenuation you are doing quite well. To get faster, you will have to move your house closer to the exchange.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      hmm ok... ta

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      If you have not already done and you are not running Vista, download and run either TCPOptimiser or DrTCP, links below. These will not improve your connection speed, but may improve your surfing speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      samperry209's Avatar
      samperry209 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Littlehampton
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Littlehampton
      Posts
      777
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      If you have not already done and you are not running Vista, download and run either TCPOptimiser or DrTCP, links below. These will not improve your connection speed, but may improve your surfing speed.
      ive downloaded these before but they dont seem to work

    10. #9
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      Your speedtest is very close to your stats. Also with regards to the gaming side have you asked sky to reduce your pings, as this looks high on your stats?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: i feel my connection is too slow for the sync

      Sam
      You might also want to try using OpenDNS servers, these perform better for some users than the Sky ones.
      208.67.222.222
      208.67.220.220

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION