Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 33

    Netgear Router update overnight

    This is a discussion on Netgear Router update overnight within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; if i put my routers mode into adsl 1 or adsl 2 i get 768 when i put it in ...

    1. #21
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      if i put my routers mode into adsl 1 or adsl 2 i get 768 when i put it in adsl2+ i get 765 when my max delays were set to 8/8 then when my max delays were set to 32/32 my upstream went to 764 and when i was on dlm my upstream went to 796


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Quote Originally Posted by iangilf View Post
      if i put my routers mode into adsl 1 or adsl 2 i get 768 when i put it in adsl2+ i get 765 when my max delays were set to 8/8 then when my max delays were set to 32/32 my upstream went to 764 and when i was on dlm my upstream went to 796
      I've been checking back through my posts/emails...
      Summer DLM trial reduced both my downstream and upstream speeds.
      Pointed out to Sky I was on Sky Max and could I have the downstream cap removed and upstream returned to Max default of 768k.
      Downstream was set at 2560k due to re-sync's / disconnects that occured at the time due to a REIN interference fault ( now removed ), upstream was put back to 768k. That's why my connection has a 768k upstream speed, I believe it IS on ADSL2+ mode, but Sky manually set the upstream speed... I believe my line is too long to support ADSL2+ mode reliably, hence the large noise margin drops at night. My last request via Kana form to return to G.DMT mode has had no response... Looks like I'm going to have to ring Sky in the early hours...

    4. #23
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Ok, Noise margin plots using firmware V2.02.34 & V2.02.44 attached.
      The new firmware certainly makes the DG934G more stable on my line, ie no more re-sync's or reboots which is good... but unfortunately it doesn't make it as stable as a Broadcomm based router. Looks like my dream of a 4000k downstream connection is out, I'll see what DLM does for me in the New Year...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Netgear Router update overnight-dg934_34.jpg   Netgear Router update overnight-dg934_44.jpg  

    5. #24
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      I'm getting a similar result to Alex. Not only am I synching at my highest rate ever but, much more important, the router has held that rate for more than 2 days without any change of speed. The noise margin has been amazingly stable, holding at 4 db with occasional excursions up and down.

      Previously I might reach that rate for a few minutes, but then the rate would drop and could not be recovered. I reckon I have gained about a 10% sustained speed increase.

      Synching at 3040 may not seem much to many of you, but to me its amazing.

    6. #25
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      I'm getting a similar result to Alex. Not only am I synching at my highest rate ever but, much more important, the router has held that rate for more than 2 days without any change of speed. The noise margin has been amazingly stable, holding at 4 db with occasional excursions up and down.

      Previously I might reach that rate for a few minutes, but then the rate would drop and could not be recovered. I reckon I have gained about a 10% sustained speed increase.

      Synching at 3040 may not seem much to many of you, but to me its amazing.
      Strangley enough, the same has happened to me. I'm syncing at a much higher speed, the speed doesn't vary, the NM is steady, the connection is not dropping!
      BUT, I've not yet been updated!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #26
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Hi Ned,

      Start a new thread on "How not updating my router firmware has increased my synch rate and stabilised my noise"

    8. #27
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Could be they've begun to update the DSLAMs too.

    9. #28
      B J's Avatar
      B J
      B J is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      287
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Saturday

      What does the DSLAM update hope to acheive? is it help for unstable lines.
      His name was nut, Mr P Nut.

    10. #29
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      I didn't say that the DSLAMs were being updated just that they could be - though there's nothing appearing on this support page. Whether a DSLAM update would appear there or not I don't know.

      Firmware updates will be made from time to time, generally for one of two reasons: the manufacturers have released new features/improvements or changes are made to improve compatibility with connected devices (routers). IIRC there was a DSLAM firmware update undertaken a year or so ago, shortly before the V1 router update.
      Last edited by Saturday; 08-11-08 at 07:12 PM. Reason: Hadn't answered the question

    11. #30
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      823
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Netgear Router update overnight

      Something's happening! My synch rate has now gone up to 3104 kbps with a downstream noise fluctuating between 5 and 8 dB (higher than yesterday and much higher than before). At this rate I might soon have a decent speed.

      The other thing that I have noticed is that my upstream line attenuation has increased from, typically, 15 dB to 31 dB

      The new firmware is supposed to stop the very high noise margins being shown when really 0 or less, but I had a huge noise margin spike on RouterStats this morning caused by the living room thermostat buzzing.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION