Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

    This is a discussion on Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok so I've had sky max for some time now, had some initial teething problems but all well for over ...

    1. #1
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help


      Ok so I've had sky max for some time now, had some initial teething problems but all well for over a year now with good speeds of 6.5Mb to the exchange. I started to notice a few lag issue's when playing xbox live and also streaming video over the internet was buffering alot.

      Logged into my router and I seem to have lost about 1.5Mb downstream to the exchange, can someone please advise if they have had similar problems?
      I haven't changed any of my equipment all is the same so no idea why my speed has changed.
      Any suggestions as I don't want to leave sky because I have been happy in the last year but my internet just seems slow!!



      Warrington Exchange - Town Centre
      DSL Status: UP
      DSL Modulation Mode: GDMT
      DSL Path Mode: INTERLEAVED
      Downstream Rate: 4096 Kbps
      Upstream Rate: 800 Kbps
      Downstream Margin: 14 db
      Upstream Margin: 9 db
      Downstream Line Attenuation: 45
      Upstream Line Attenuation: 26
      Downstream Transmit Power: 0
      Upstream Transmit Power: 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      Looks like something has happened. That 800kps on the upstream does not look right, not unless you have had a nice chat with someone

      Which socket is this taken from ? The 4096 looks like a capped speed.

      Post stats from the main/test socket.
      Last edited by googleme; 31-10-08 at 04:01 AM.

    4. #3
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      Quote Originally Posted by googleme View Post
      Looks like something has happened. That 800kps on the upstream does not look right, not unless you have had a nice chat with someone

      Which socket is this taken from ? The 4096 looks like a capped speed.

      Post stats from the main/test socket.
      Hi thanks for the response

      I have my router plugged in the Master Socket and the stats were taken of the routers status page.

      how do I post stats from the main/test socket?

      Regards

      P

    5. #4
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      Have a look here to see how to get access to the tester socket:-
      Sky User - Help & Support for Sky & Sky Broadband - How to test your Master Socket

      Connect to that socket (if you have one!) then simply post the stats back as shown by your router
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    6. #5
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      I am plugged into the master socket, that's the only one I have in the house and I have checked it's connects directly to the drop line. I don't have a standard BT so cannot test the service socket, my Master socket is a MK chrome socket and the orange and white wires are directly wired to the back of it from the drop.

      Do you know how I could check what speed I should be theoretically be getting based on my distance from the exchange, I'm sure they have capped me but I need some ammunition before I call them up.


      Any other advice would be appreciated

      thanks Mark

    7. #6
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      Stats

      ADSL Current Status Table
      Item Value
      ADSL Line Type GDMT
      ADSL Line Coding INTERLEAVED
      Line Attenuation (Down):45 (Up):26
      Noise Margin (Down):13 (Up):9
      Total Output Power (Down):0 (Up):0
      Current Rate DownStr: 4096(K) UpStr: 800(K)
      ADSL Line Status UP
      FEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      FEC(INTERL) (Near):3536 (Far):183
      CRC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      CRC(INTERL) (Near):38 (Far):0
      HEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      HEC(INTERL) (Near):0 (Far):0
      Showtime last(sec) 4809
      ADSL_FW_Version 0.49
      ADSL_Board_Type Annex A

    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      might be easier to get stats from the Sky router...

      seems you were on DLM (upstream at 800kbps shows that) and was prob capped cause of that...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      might be easier to get stats from the Sky router...

      seems you were on DLM (upstream at 800kbps shows that) and was prob capped cause of that...
      What does DLM mean?

      I called sky and they said I had been capped but couldn't tell me why, they removed my cap and I now get the below stats.
      Does this look right for my Attenuation and Noise Margin? I should at least get around 8MB right?, do I need to call them back and get them to change something to get my maximum speed?


      ADSL Line Type GDMT
      ADSL Line Coding INTERLEAVED
      Line Attenuation (Down):45 (Up):26
      Noise Margin (Down):2 (Up):9
      Total Output Power (Down):0 (Up):0
      Current Rate DownStr: 6528(K) UpStr: 800(K)
      ADSL Line Status UP
      FEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      FEC(INTERL) (Near):2584 (Far):2494
      CRC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      CRC(INTERL) (Near):30 (Far):6
      HEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      HEC(INTERL) (Near):2040 (Far):0
      Showtime last(sec) 1225915979
      ADSL_FW_Version 0.49
      ADSL_Board_Type Annex A

      thanks

      Mark

    10. #9
      pheonixman's Avatar
      pheonixman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Warrington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      This is weird, spoke to sky the other day and they said my line is not capable of the speeds I am now getting, they upped my speed to 7Mb after I insisted and now I'm getting the following results.

      Can anyone see any problems with these stats or should I just leave it now as based on my SNR and attenuation this is what I should be getting?


      ADSL Line Type GDMT
      ADSL Line CodingADSL Line Coding INTERLEAVED
      Line Attenuation (Down):43 (Up):24
      Noise Margin (Down):8 (Up):13
      Total Output Power (Down):0 (Up):0
      Current State DownStr: 7584(K) UpStr: 768(K)
      undefined UP
      FEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      FEC(INTERL) (Near):5780 (Far):368639
      CRC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      undefined (Near):39 (Far):197
      HEC(FAST) (Near):0 (Far):0
      HEC(FAST) (Near):2652 (Far):0
      Showtime last(sec) 1226235598
      ADSL FW Version 0.54
      ADSL Board Type Annex A


      Thanks

      Mark

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Strange Speed loss, something going on confused!! Please help

      that's good for your attenuation so id be happy
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION