Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Issues with new connection

    This is a discussion on Issues with new connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi I'd be grateful for any thoughts from forum regulars on an issue I've been having with my new Sky ...

    1. #1
      alanjrobertson's Avatar
      alanjrobertson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Issues with new connection

      Hi

      I'd be grateful for any thoughts from forum regulars on an issue I've been having with my new Sky broadband base connection.

      Although my sync speeds seem fine and my attenuation/SNR seem acceptable (see below) I find the actual transfer speeds much worse than expected. I'm averaging 600-1100kbps on a variety of speed test sites and in realworld use I find that BBC iPlayer keeps rebuffering (even on standard quality streams). I use this same laptop at another location with 2Mb Virgin Media broadband without any issue so the PC itself doesn't seem to be the issue.

      I've tried connecting directly to the master socket but there was only a slight reduction in attenuation/rise in SNR with no appreciable speed difference.

      I've filled out a form for Sky customer services but would be interested to hear if other people had experienced similar issues or had any particular advice regarding what aspects I should be pushing with Sky.

      Thanks!

      Alan

      Normal socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 40.0 db 23.0 db
      Noise Margin 27.9 db 13.0 db

      BT Test Socket
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2048 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 21.5 db
      Noise Margin 30.8 db 14.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      How are you connecting? Wireless? Ethernet?

      Your sync speeds seem to be fine though. I don't know if it could possibly be the 256 error kicking in sometimes? But from the stats look oke to me. Personally I would increase the upstream to 416kbps just to be on the safe side.

      Other than that would you have any other programs open on the system? Downloading/ Uploading any files at the same times? Anyone connected to the router using a computer/ console elsewhere in the home?

    4. #3
      alanjrobertson's Avatar
      alanjrobertson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Thanks for such a quick response!

      I'm connecting wirelessly but initially was on ethernet and it didn't seem to be any faster. [It's also wirelessly when I'm connecting at the other location where the 2Mb connection seems to work OK.]

      Agree increasing the upload speed might be worth a shot - is this something they're willing to do? (I've got Sky Mid in another flat that has a Slingbox and I'd love to have a slightly better upstream speed for it!)

      No other uploading/downloading going on - Windows Update is fully up to date. No other PCs, only other device on the network is a printer that's in sleep mode!

      Cheers

    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Quote Originally Posted by krysis View Post
      Your sync speeds seem to be fine though. I don't know if it could possibly be the 256 error kicking in sometimes? But from the stats look oke to me. Personally I would increase the upstream to 416kbps just to be on the safe side.
      The OP is using a Sagem so its not going to be the 256 problem.

    6. #5
      Andy17's Avatar
      Andy17 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woodhouse (SLWD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fiber Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      1,370
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Just a thought, but have you considered upgrading to sky Max, because your stats are what mine were before i was on max. You could get up to 9Mb with a 40db attenuation after the up to 3db increase for ADSL2+ taking it to 40db.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      It is fairly obvious that you have been capped or possibly put on the Base package. Phone Sky and ask them to check your package and troubleshoot you for slow download speed. Your test socket shows a better connection than your main which suggests your internal wiring is causing a problem. When you phone Sky keep plugged into the Test socket.

      PS I am surprised the SkyBods did not see this.

      Edit - I am confused by this Broadband ISP: Sky Mid (Craiglockhart), Sky Base (Steeple)
      Last edited by Isitme; 30-10-08 at 04:13 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Edit - I am confused by this Broadband ISP: Sky Mid (Craiglockhart), Sky Base (Steeple)
      You must have missed the part where he said:

      Quote Originally Posted by alanjrobertson View Post
      I've got Sky Mid in another flat

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      I'm just confused, period

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      alanjrobertson's Avatar
      alanjrobertson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      54
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Thanks for the replies! Yep, I'm on Sky Base in this flat. Although the attenuation rose slightly and SNR fell slightly on the connection that wasn't directly into the test socket I didn't think this was a significant enough difference to be of relevance (esp. as it continues to sync at the same speed).

      Sky replied today to say it is 'within acceptable parameters' and then explained how to change wireless channel. I pointed out the speed was just as slow on the wired connection and I didn't feel 600kbps was an acceptable speed for a 2Mb connection! Will see what they come back with.

      A.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Issues with new connection

      Your sync speed will not change as that is the maximum you will get on Base. The fact that you are syncing at this speed means Sky are doing all that is required of them. The speed is being delivered to the router, the fact that you are getting a low download speed is down to your PC settings. I would advise you to use an ethernet connection until such time as you sort the problem out. You can then try to improve the wireless speed. Try going to the TweakTester and take the test. You can then download and run DrTCP to apply the recommendations.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION