Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Dropping & Speed

    This is a discussion on Dropping & Speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I'm just going to get straight to the point, which has made me extremly frustrated over the past month or ...

    1. #1
      Sraew's Avatar
      Sraew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Dropping & Speed

      I'm just going to get straight to the point, which has made me extremly frustrated over the past month or so.

      Firstly whenever the house phone rings and I pick the reciver up it totally disconnects the internet, I've tried changing the filter but nothing.

      Secondly, I'm paying for 8mbs and only getting around 3.5, I know I can get around 7.5 as i used to, is there anything anyone here can suggest before I call the monkies that Sky calls Customer Service.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Sraew View Post
      the monkies that Sky calls Customer Service.
      Not the way to go posting something like that, as some people on here do that job.


      Have you tried the set up within the test socket, and see if the problem occurs then. Also is every telephone socket in use filtered.

    4. #3
      Sraew's Avatar
      Sraew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Sorry for the outburst, it's just been making me so angry.

      I only have the master socket filtered, but I will try the test socket bussines soon. I might as well give this as well.

      Connection Speed 3520 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.9 db 23.0 db

    5. #4
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Yeah its ok bud, I understand it can be frustrating. You should be getting better speeds that that. If you could post the info in the test, and retest the problem as well.

      Do you have other sockets around ?

    6. #5
      Sraew's Avatar
      Sraew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Ok, I'm currently plugged into the Test Socket;

      Connection Speed 7264 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 19.0 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.9 db 25.0 db

      -----

      She is on the phone right now while I'm browsing the net, so its 100% normal in the Test Socket, so what could be wrong with the basic socket?

    7. #6
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Do you have any other telephone sockets around the house (strange question I know) ?

    8. #7
      Sraew's Avatar
      Sraew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Yeah, quite a lot infact, the inside of the Master Socket was packed full of wires!

    9. #8
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      Sounds like an wiring issue. I am not to hot on that, Hopefully one of the Cable experts will be along soon.

      Your speeds look a lot better now though

      Soz, Any of those that are in use need to be filtered.

    10. #9
      Sraew's Avatar
      Sraew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      No worries, thanks for all your help.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Dropping & Speed

      I think you should know that although you are now syncing at a good speed in the Test socket, you will not see an improvement in download speed for several days. This is not Sky's fault, it is just the service you are using, BT ADSLMax, that operates like this.

      You first action should be to fit an Filtered faceplate This will isolate your internal wiring from the ADSL signal, which will solve your problem. Filters will no longer be required on all of your extensions. While you have the faceplate off, check that all of your extensions are dead.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION