Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Invalid MAC code?

    This is a discussion on Invalid MAC code? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, New to these forums, need a bit of help here please. I am currently on Bulldog 2mb via a ...

    1. #1
      Hell's Avatar
      Hell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Invalid MAC code?

      Hi,

      New to these forums, need a bit of help here please.

      I am currently on Bulldog 2mb via a reseller (Hi-Velocity).
      I ordered my sky bb Max 16mb package 9th Sept and got my router on the 12th of Sept, great I thought not long now! I then received a letter on the 13th of Sept giving me an activation date of 20th Sept.

      After reading these forums I thought I had better ring them to check how my order was going. I rang them on the 16th Sept to be told my MAC code was invalid, they guy tried to ring provisions but had no luck.I quizzed him on why my MAC would be invalid after I confirmed they had the same code I originally gave him. He did not know why, and when I asked if they accepted MAC codes from ppl migrating from Bulldog he said there should be no problem.

      So, he said the only thing he could do is re submit the order again. I have since had a letter to say that I will be activated on the 27th Sept. Recently I have phoned and quizzed the ppl I got through to, and they are totally clueless and cant give me any info at what stage my order is at and whether Sky DO accept Bulldog MAC codes.

      Anyone know if its possible to migrate from Bulldog to Sky bb?

      Anyone know of a number I can ring at Sky that actually has someone who knows what they are on about on the other end of the line?

      Thanks for any help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I would doubt you can migrate from Bulldog, being an LLU provider.
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      That's because the people in the Tech Support use Chordiant wheras the people in sales,order status use a system called Penfold,which the tech support DO NOT have acess to.The hold time to the other depts last week was on average 30 to 40 minutes.
      Dont blame the tech support guys who dont have acess to other depts systems.It's not their fault.And you'd sound 'clueless' when trying to resolve a problem that is'nt in you're area of expertise,trying to provide a answer to a 'mouthy' customer who takes it out on you because they've been on hold for a while!
      And believe me,you get a lot of them!!!

    5. #4
      Hell's Avatar
      Hell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the replies.

      It just does'nt make sense to have Sales staff take MAC code's if they are the incorrect format.

      They should have info at hand and ask the customer what the current ISP is and whether its a viable option in the first place.

      Perhaps they should have a dept for ppl wanting to migrate from an existing ISP.

    6. #5
      Hell's Avatar
      Hell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just checked my BT landline orders :

      Placed 17 Sep 2006
      Description CHANGE
      Appointment No date yet
      Date due 02 Oct 2006
      Status In progress Last update
      22 Sep 2006 Latest update
      Your order is in progress

      CEASE (ADSL) BT IPSTREAM HOME 2000 1

      Placed 17 Sep 2006
      Description CHANGE
      Appointment No date yet
      Date due 27 Sep 2006
      Status In progress
      Last update 22 Sep 2006
      Latest update Your order is in progress

      PROVIDE LLU LINE SHARE PSTN 1

      I'm guessing the first one is my ISP (Hi-Velocity), I emailed them last week if it would be possibe to change me over to IPStream, as this may be easier to migrate from to sky, I did not actually ask to be changed to IPStream, I asked if it was possible to do, if they did do this then an email would have been nice

      The second one must be when they re-ordered my sky bb package?.

      Looks like if it is, its going to get a bit messy.

    7. #6
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      IT probably would have worked better to do the change before you requested the MAC!
      Nothing to do now but see if it works I Guess!

    8. #7
      Hell's Avatar
      Hell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well, I only found out ppl were having problems migrating from certain ISP's after my first order was cancelled due to the invalid mac code.

      I read a post on adslguide.org that ppl on IPStream we having more success migrating.

      To keep the ball rolling I requested the possibility of changing to an IPStream connection..I did not out right ask for it to be done, and certainly not that quick

      I will ring my ISP tomorrow to find out whats going on.

      Perhaps its Sky who are doing this ^^

    9. #8
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Hell

      Looking at the order status you posted and the fact that you were on ISP Stream and not LLU I don't see why the MAC would be rejected unless you were supplied an incorrect MAC Code by your old ISP.

      Anyway good luck with your order now
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION