Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 100

    Router Firmware Updated.

    This is a discussion on Router Firmware Updated. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hmmmm, my BT (upto 8meg) was rock solid at 6432 for months with no drop-outs. Now that I've moved to ...

    1. #31
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Hmmmm, my BT (upto 8meg) was rock solid at 6432 for months with no drop-outs.
      Now that I've moved to Sky (upto 16meg) I get 5000 to 6000 with a drop-out EVERY night.

      There's something wrong with the SKY kit in my exchange. If it doesn't improve I'll be jumping ship at the end of my initial contract!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      It's the router, believe me. If you had the Sagem, you wouldn't have an issue. But Sky won't ever admit that, and as you can't use your own router, you're helpless. Why not join me and move to Be?

    4. #33
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      but you CAN use your own router - it's just against T&C's...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #34
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      But to me (even if mainly out of principle) that's not the answer. If they won't allow you to use your own router, but at the same time can't provide one that doesn't have a well-known issue, then I don't believe they deserve your business.

      That, coupled with the fact that it's expensive to call support and that you have to go through a painful process just to speak to someone who vaguely knows what they're talking about is no good for me.

      In fairness, Sky is aimed at the masses and I think the system they've got in place works very well for that. I think if you're a bit more technically-minded, though, they're likely to annoy you.

    6. #35
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      it's free to call tech if you have SkyTalk (which most people on Sky do, they're just not aware it's free)...

      and i'm as tech-minded as you can get - and yes my SNR drops - but i don't lose service and bar this whole throttling on Connect thing I've had no issues with Sky, their router or the service...

      i think people expect too much these days, taking the internet for granted...

      and for the record, saw another connection with dropping SNR WITH a Sagem, so there's goes your theory...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #36
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      That I'm aware of, and I would've signed up to Sky Talk if I hadn't been in contract with BT until March 2009.

      I don't think people expect too much. As I say, I believe Sky is for the masses and the structure they've got in place works for that.

      I don't doubt that you saw SNRM dropping with a Sagem - I'm not denying that in some cases this issue actually exists because of real noise surges. But with the Netgear, unless you have a very good line, the SNRM fluctuates wildly and often plunges into negative. Is it normal for the noise margin to be 2dB immediately after it has sync'd? No. That's the whole point of the target margin. Other routers are able to sync at the target margin, but the Netgear doesn't because of the chipset.

    8. #37
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      I've only (personally) seen one case where changing to the Sagem actually stopped a falling SNR, ALL other cases were solved with replacing exchange equipment (whether this proves it's the chipset having issues with the DSLAMs I don't know). Even replacing routers for Sagem's didn't seem too fix them...

      I'm probably gonna test the theory with my connection and try get hold of a router based on the Broadcom chipset - any suggestions? was gonna go with a linksys WAG160N...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #38
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      I take your point. I'm not trying to argue with you - all I'm saying is that there is an issue with the AR7 chipset. Like you say, whether that's an incompatibility with the exchange equipment remains to be seen. I just believe that in my case (because of past experience of using a Netgear and then something with a Broadcom chipset) the Sagem would've sorted it.

      I'm not a big fan of Linksys myself. How about a SpeedTouch 585v6 (good router imho) or a DG834Gv4?

    10. #39
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      read a review of the Linksys and it is a broadcom chipset - so that's good...i'll look into it a bit more and make a decision...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    11. #40
      Sebby's Avatar
      Sebby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Potters Bar
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Okay, keep us posted, will be interested to hear.

     

     
    Page 4 of 10 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION