Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 100

    Router Firmware Updated.

    This is a discussion on Router Firmware Updated. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sure, I have fired off an email, and will wait and see what Sky say....

    1. #11
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Sure, I have fired off an email, and will wait and see what Sky say.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Sure, I have fired off an email, and will wait and see what Sky say.
      Great stuff.

      Thanks.
      Alex

    4. #13
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      OR you could just wait...it's not on full release yet, just a trial to make sure the FW update doesn't brick a router...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    5. #14
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      OR you could just wait...it's not on full release yet, just a trial to make sure the FW update doesn't brick a router...
      Could you please inform me if such a trial occured with the Sagem or Netgear V1 updated firmware roll out ? Why do a live test and risk "bricking" user's routers ? Surely Sky has some DG934 routers in a test environment they can check the firmware on first ?!! Surely the point of Sky locking down the firmware in the first place is so they have a known quantity to deal with re: it's configuration ? Have the users like ultraviolet in this thread, who appear to have received the updated firmware been made aware they're being used as Guinea Pigs ? First DLM, now this "method" of firmware deployment !
      I know it's not your fault IANTE and I appreciate your info, but I have to say, Sky never cease to amaze me !!

    6. #15
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Could you please inform me if such a trial occured with the Sagem or Netgear V1 updated firmware roll out ?
      Yes - normally Sky employees get it first, and they provide feedback etc




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by AlexS View Post
      Could you please inform me if such a trial occured with the Sagem or Netgear V1 updated firmware roll out ? Why do a live test and risk "bricking" user's routers ? Surely Sky has some DG934 routers in a test environment they can check the firmware on first ?!! Surely the point of Sky locking down the firmware in the first place is so they have a known quantity to deal with re: it's configuration ? Have the users like ultraviolet in this thread, who appear to have received the updated firmware been made aware they're being used as Guinea Pigs ? First DLM, now this "method" of firmware deployment !
      I know it's not your fault IANTE and I appreciate your info, but I have to say, Sky never cease to amaze me !!
      as NR said - there are Staff trials initially and then a small sample of the public before the mass roll out...no idea the size of the sample at present but a good few thousand I'd imagine...

      also, has he even confirmed he has the new FW?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Yes - normally Sky employees get it first, and they provide feedback etc
      Ok, Thanks for the info. From ultraviolet's post it didn't appear that he was aware of the scheduled firmware update. This therefore implies that he was not a Sky employee as he was not informed what was happening... There was no indication that this was a trial for Sky employee's only, only IANTE's post that a trial was taking place... I'm now about as confused as I ever want to be !

    9. #18
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      doubt even staff would be told about it...no one was told the Sagem one went out and we've had NO calls about it bricking so I'd assume the Netgear one'll be the same...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    10. #19
      AlexS's Avatar
      AlexS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Draytek Vigor 130 + Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      127
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      doubt even staff would be told about it...no one was told the Sagem one went out and we've had NO calls about it bricking so I'd assume the Netgear one'll be the same...
      Thanks for the info. Looks like I'm better off waiting for the dust to settle... As long as the dust HAS settled before DLM mkII kicks in !

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router Firmware Updated.

      Quote Originally Posted by AlexS View Post
      From ultraviolet's post it didn't appear that he was aware of the scheduled firmware update. This therefore implies that he was not a Sky employee as he was not informed what was happening.
      Fair comment, although his version number has not been posted to verify if it is in fact the newer FW.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION