Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

    This is a discussion on Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96 within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am having problems setting up my netgear router to enable my nokia to browse the web and also use ...

    1. #1
      Mark1968's Avatar
      Mark1968 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      I am having problems setting up my netgear router to enable my nokia to browse the web and also use BBCIplayer.

      My settings are: Name: SSID: Dyson, region: Europe, Channel: 6, Mode: auto 108mps, Enable access point: ticked, Allow broad cast name ticked, Wireless isolation: unticked, secutity disabled.

      The phone sees the network and trys and connects,m but then comes up with a no gateway message which I assume means it is not seeing the internet. Please advise


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      jid's Avatar
      jid
      jid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bridgend
      Broadband ISP: Tiscali
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      Firstly I would try enabling the Security and then trying it. I have a friend who had a similar problem to yourself and managed to fix it by Securing the Network.
      Regards

      Jamie


      (Tiscali LLU 8meg ; Sync: 7872kbps ; Attenuation: 30dB)

    4. #3
      Mark1968's Avatar
      Mark1968 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      I have added a security profile but am still getting the same error

    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      Drop the speed to 54mbps and try again!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      Mark1968's Avatar
      Mark1968 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      How do I do that I only have the options for g&b, g only and 108mbps?

    7. #6
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      Where do you get 108 from? 'b' is 11 & 'g' is 54! 108 is a multiple like mimo.
      Your N96 is 'b/g' and will respond to 54 or 11. It may not understand 108!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      the V1 routers are 108Mbps wireless...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      the V1 routers are 108Mbps wireless...
      Then, that may well be the problem!

      My N95 works OK with a draft 'n' WAP but, of course, 'n' is backwards compatible to 'b/g'!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #9
      Mark1968's Avatar
      Mark1968 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      OK, as it looks like I don't have a compatable router for my new phone, so I am going to get a replacement, possibly a Belkin F5D7632UK4 Wireless 54G ADSL Modem Router from PCworld. Does anyone have any experience of this router and any other sugestions that they know will work.

    11. #10
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      re: Setting up wireless network for Nokia N96

      Before you do that Mark, does the router see your N96?

      And, what else have you got other than auto 108mps?


      PS: Wifi setup for your router here!
      Last edited by Ned Ludd; 21-10-08 at 10:13 PM.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION