Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Anything Wrong with my stats?

    This is a discussion on Anything Wrong with my stats? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, I just seen the 'How to post your route stats guide' so I just thought I would as my ...

    1. #1
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Anything Wrong with my stats?

      Hello,

      I just seen the 'How to post your route stats guide' so I just thought I would as my luck is never good and theres going to be something wrong with my connection


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 796 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 27.6 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 11.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      Hellllllllo there ,

      Those stats look nice for that line length. Me thinks we can push it up a bit more

      Could you tell please provide us with some comparison stats from the master socket (First socket into the premises).

      Also provide us with some detailed stats from this link?

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?PATH=/b...%261+2%3E%261;

    4. #3
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      Thanks for the quick reply

      My master socket is a old one so it doesn't have a test socket but i'm running a extension cable from the master socket and it will be hard to move my computer to where the master socket is but I will try :P heres the results from the extension cable

      ppp0 Link encap:Point-Point Protocol
      inet addr:90.199.158.125 P-t-P:87.87.249.251 Mask:255.255.255.255
      UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
      RX packets:1436458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
      TX packets:1105541 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
      collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
      RX bytes:1505632712 (1.4 GiB) TX bytes:113281976 (108.0 MiB)

      Uptime 171177.98 170096.55
      Wan up 55.20 47.23
      adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: ShowtimeRetrain Reason: 0
      Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 796 Kbps, Downstream rate = 4095 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.9 11.5
      Attn(dB): 49.0 27.6
      Pwr(dBm): 11.5 12.8
      Max(Kbps): 4920 896
      Rate (Kbps): 4095 796
      G.dmt framing
      K: 64(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 63 24
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4961 7.7142
      L: 1290 224
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 10614585 10067838
      SFErr: 1405 159
      RS: 1379896112 2758040
      RSCorr: 39014394 508
      RSUnCorr: 14853 0

      HEC: 1130 544
      OCD: 37 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1653265232 323307059
      Data Cells: 32462979 3479729
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 683 66
      SES: 4 0
      UAS: 16 23
      AS: 171153

      INP: 3.17 1.14
      PER: 16.12 17.83
      delay: 7.93 7.71
      OR: 32.25 33.18

      Bitswap: 34099 324

      Total time = 1 days 23 hours 32 min 57 sec
      SF = 10614585
      CRC = 1405
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 683
      Latest 1 day time = 23 hours 32 min 57 sec
      SF = 5257715
      CRC = 1054
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 445
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 57 sec
      SF = 11010
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55861
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5356870
      CRC = 351
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 238
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55798
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55798
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55798
      CRC = 28
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Showtime Drop Reason: 0
      Last Retrain Reason: 0

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      I would say that you are slightly capped, probably due to DLM having been on your line. It would be unusual to have ADSL2+ on a line with such a high attenuation otherwise. If you have hardwired extensions in your house it is unlikely you will see any improvement without fitting an NTE5 box with a filtered faceplate. You can try taking of the front of the Master socket and removing the wire from terminal #3 in the box. This is the ring wire and is not required when using filters. After doing this, plug the router directly into the Master socket and take your stats. Unplug everything that is plugged into extensions. If there is a significant rise in the noise margin it may be worthwhile making further improvements.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      Kurby's Avatar
      Kurby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      86
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I would say that you are slightly capped, probably due to DLM having been on your line. It would be unusual to have ADSL2+ on a line with such a high attenuation otherwise. If you have hardwired extensions in your house it is unlikely you will see any improvement without fitting an NTE5 box with a filtered faceplate. You can try taking of the front of the Master socket and removing the wire from terminal #3 in the box. This is the ring wire and is not required when using filters. After doing this, plug the router directly into the Master socket and take your stats. Unplug everything that is plugged into extensions. If there is a significant rise in the noise margin it may be worthwhile making further improvements.
      Thanks I was thinking about getting someone in to rewire and add the new sockets but I can't at this moment and I really don't want to mess with it incase somthing goes wrong. If I asked them to remove the cap what kind of speed would I be getting? and I'm guessing it won't be as stable if the cap is removed.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      The increase if any would be very slight. I think you may benefit more by being taken off ADSL2+ and put on G.DMT. Most longer lines perform better with this mode than ADSL2+. Maybe one of the other knowledgeable members could confirm whether you should request being put back on to G.DMT. In your position I would.

      I can only repeat that your internal wiring is likely to be the main bottleneck. Get this sorted out and you will see an improvement.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Anything Wrong with my stats?

      Yes Tom is quite right, get your wiring sorted as there is very little Sky can do untill that is done. With your attenuation there is little differance between ADSL2+ and ADSL, even with a very good line.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION