Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    How to sync at a higher speed?

    This is a discussion on How to sync at a higher speed? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I got Sky Broadband max activated today, and at first it connected at 13500kbps. I had to switch off the ...

    1. #1
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How to sync at a higher speed?

      I got Sky Broadband max activated today, and at first it connected at 13500kbps.

      I had to switch off the router to move it just now, and now it's only connected at 11500kbps.

      Does the time of day that the router 'connects' determine the sync speed?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      Indirectly yes, its a product of noise margin. This post can explain it better than I can.
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained


    4. #3
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      thanks for your reply - here are my current router stats:

      Connection Speed downstream - 11623 kbps , upstream 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation downstream 33.5 db, upstream 14.2 db
      Noise Margin downstream 6.8 db, upstream 14.0 db

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      Np mate, no hard feelings here for that 3-1 defeat


    6. #5
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      They are a nice set of line stats for a sync at that time of night, I suppose when you were on ADSL before, you never noticed much differance as you had a double digit noise margin, but now on ADSL2+,with the line running much faster and a lower noise margin, you will.
      Best to power up your router first thing in the morning, and leave it on for a good 24-48 hours. If it holds sync, and your wireless is o.k, then leave it on all the time.
      If you get poor download performance, and performance is better using network cable, then get back for more help.

    7. #6
      burnley_lad's Avatar
      burnley_lad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burnley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Burnley
      Posts
      133
      Thanks
      17
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      thanks for the advice Brian - I've just rebooted the router as advised, and here are my router stats now:

      Connection Speed downstream - 13330 kbps upstream 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation downstream 33.5 db upstream 14.3 db
      Noise Margin downstream 7.1 db upstream 14.5 db

      I'll leave my router on now for the next 48 hours.

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: How to sync at a higher speed?

      lovely

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION