Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

    This is a discussion on Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The exchange is Beaumont for 0116 numbers... I dont know what i'm looking for on samknows!!! Samknows Broadband - Beaumont ...

    1. #1
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      The exchange is Beaumont for 0116 numbers...

      I dont know what i'm looking for on samknows!!!

      Samknows Broadband - Beaumont (EMBEAUM) Exchange

      Thanks the link for the right exchange.

      Dont want to spend 90 minutes ringing Sky to be told I can't get it!!

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Sky / Easynet: Enabled as of 21/12/2006

      The exchange is Sky LLU enabled, so providing there is space, yes you should get the upto 16mb speeds.

      Remember though, it is dependent on your line, as to whether you could actually achieve it.

      How far from the exchange are you?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Good News!! Sky have an LLU presents, so provided there is a slot spare in the dslam, then yes you could go for Max (the only on of Sky's products that do up to 16 meg)
      What speeds you get will depend on your line/internal wiring

    5. #4
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Thanks...on hold to them now!!

      BTW I am 657 metres away from the exchange according to Samknows.

      I have had 8Mb for about 2 years now which has been absolutely rock solid, so I'm hoping that the extra speed shouldn't cause an issue!

    6. #5
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      you should be good to go

    7. #6
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      they are saying im already on max....but i always connect at 8096 and 768....everytime for 2 years...is there something I can get them to do to get the speed up cos they are saying that there is nothing they can do....

      And the BU*^&&%S just hung up on me!

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      While you are waiting for your shift to Sky, have a look at the cable and faceplate section. Sounds like you will be fine, but looking at your internal wiring is always worth doing.

      OOps, throught you were moving to Sky, youed better post your stats
      Last edited by Brian69; 15-10-08 at 08:58 PM.

    9. #8
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 27.0 db 19.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.8 db 14.0 db


      Those the right ones?

    10. #9
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Ok...this will be a stupid question, but the Netgear DG834GT is capable of over 8Mb isn't it?

      I thought it had just ADSL, not ADSL2+?

    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      yes...although the attenuation is low enough to suggest close to 16Mbps, your SNR is low...do you have a test socket? if so, plug into there and take the stats reading again...

      that connection is currently on gdmt, capped @ 8Mbps...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION