Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 33

    Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

    This is a discussion on Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; If there are any extension sockets in your home, wether you use them or not, check that they have no ...

    1. #21
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      If there are any extension sockets in your home, wether you use them or not, check that they have no dial tone when you use the test socket.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Other sockets all dead when test socket used

      Is that good or bad??? :-)

    4. #23
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Well in your case it is bad, it looks like you have a poor line and the speed you have is as good as it gets.
      There is one more test.

      (1) Plug a phone in the test socket and dial a single digit to kill the dial tone, you should now hear only a low hiss. no pops or crackles what is your line like?

    5. #24
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Nice and quiet...no strange noises or anything.

      This is really confusing me now!

    6. #25
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      all it means is that although the theory should mean you should get around 16Mbps, the reality is your line is bad so it's not possible...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #26
      Dover54321's Avatar
      Dover54321 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Oh well..thanks for your help anyway

      really annoying considering the house is only 4 years old!!!!

    8. #27
      britishmeat's Avatar
      britishmeat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      I am having the same problem, surely there has to be an explanation??????

    9. #28
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      The speeds you get depends on the state of your line. Sky ( or any other ISP) always supply BB on an "up to" bases. eg Sky Max is advertised as "up to 16 Meg".
      As long as Sky can supply you with a stable connection, they do not accept that any given line should run at any given speed, so all you can do is to make sure your own internal wiring is as good as it can be, Sky will not pay Openreach to work on your line just because the speeds it can support at not in line with what you may expect.

    10. #29
      britishmeat's Avatar
      britishmeat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bourne
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      surely if you are close enough to the exchange to get 16MB you should be getting 16MB, if not then SKY/BT need to fix something? (as long as you have checked everything that is stated in this forum)

      I am going to report a line fault to BT saying that the line is "often" noisy and i can't hear the other caller!!! wonder what will happen then?

    11. #30
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Can someone tell me if this exchange will get 16Mb?

      Yes why not. What will happen is this.

      (1) When you report the fault, an exchange test will be carried out, which will show no fault.

      (2) If you insist on a tech visit, you will be warned that you could be charged for it, but if you insist a visit will be booked.

      (3) The Tech will arrive (he/she will not be BB trained and will not deal with any BB problems as such) They will test the line for noise, and may check your master socket/ overhead/street cab, for poor connections. If they find anything they will fix it, if they don't they will close the ticket with Openreach and you will receive a bill.

      (4) The only way to get a BB trained Tech to visit is through your ISP.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION