Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

    This is a discussion on slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status???? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I also use the free edition of Avast and Comodo. I had far too many problems with AVG8 and I ...

    1. #21
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      I also use the free edition of Avast and Comodo. I had far too many problems with AVG8 and I think Avast gives better allround protection.

      It may be worth running Avast Cleaner tool it will detect and remove many threats. If you run it remember to disconnect from the web and turn off your existing AV or it may prevent it running.

      Running netstat -b may be an idea too, as it will show which exes are making the connection. You can usually work out if something should not be there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      kiko's Avatar
      kiko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      i did power o the router off, and run cc cleaner, deleted all cookies cach etc:

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      Quote Originally Posted by kiko View Post
      i did power o the router off
      For 10+ minutes as advised to let the router cool down?

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      ......and you did reboot your PC after making the TCP changes?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      kiko's Avatar
      kiko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      its been off again there for 10 minutes..
      think thats it sorted.
      BIG THANKS AGAIN!!

    7. #26
      kiko's Avatar
      kiko is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      Heres the latest speed test...thats with bit torrent running in the background, downloading at over 300kb/s. downloaded 350mb in less than 30 mins
      That'll do me!!



      We have detected that your ISP is Sky - Your current download speed is 6296Kbps, and your current upload speed is 199Kbps.
      Your most recent test results
      Test taken
      (up to) Download
      Speed (Kbps) Upload
      Speed (Kbps)
      14 October, 2008 04:48:01 6296 Kbps 199 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 03:22:46 1176 Kbps 44 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 03:14:05 5640 Kbps 82 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 03:12:57 1696 Kbps 28 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 02:47:58 320 Kbps 56 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 02:16:47 1240 Kbps 57 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 02:15:41 0 Kbps 69 Kbps
      14 October, 2008 01:40:04 584 Kbps 56 Kbps

      Average statistics for your current package
      Broadband Package Speed
      (up to) Contract
      Term Monthly
      Fee Download
      Avg - Kbs Upload
      Avg - Kbps Info
      Sky Mid 8 meg 12 Mths 5.00 3854.78 303.33 Info

    8. #27
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: slow speeds in speed tester & fast in router status????

      Quote Originally Posted by kiko View Post
      its been off again there for 10 minutes..
      think thats it sorted.
      If powering off for 10 minutes restores your speed then it sounds as though you're cooking your router (or it's faulty). Routers must have good ventilation all round and in the case of the old V1, mounted on its feet.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION