Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    intermittent Broadband connection

    This is a discussion on intermittent Broadband connection within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Usually if you can ping a site but cant browse to it its most likely a firewall issue. But if ...

    1. #11
      krysis's Avatar
      krysis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: BT
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      301
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      Usually if you can ping a site but cant browse to it its most likely a firewall issue.
      But if both computers drop out at the same time I'm guessing it could be a possible physical setup issue.
      Are you using a splitter or extension cable? or have an unfiltered socket?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      86winnie91's Avatar
      86winnie91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01920
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      hi thanks for reply.
      all phone sockets have microfilters fitted (I have tried changing these). There are only 2 places in the house where i can plug the router in and I have tried both of these with the same results.
      Just to clarify: There is a small white box (sealed need screwdriver to open) above the front door where the phone line comes in the house from this 2 cables go off in different directions for about 10 feet, at the end of one our router is plugged in, at the end of the other our sky+ box and Telephone are plugged in. The BT engineer did look at the little box and said it looked OK. I have tried plugging the router into the other Socket (that did not work either)

    4. #13
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      As you have had an Openreach BB tech check the internal wiring, we have to assume the problem is not there. As sky appear to be preparied to sanction a second visit, all should be o.k.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      It is a pity the technician did not replace your old line box with an NTE5. This would have allowed a 'clean' connection to the external line. It may be worth asking about this if BT call again.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      No doubt that will come. With a bit of luck the second visit will see the fault put in an apperance.

      The problem with an intermittant fault is where to start!! if it refuses to show. My own opinion is to check the internal stuff, and then any overhead line first. Nine times out of ten, it's at the top of the pole and with the help of the customer watching their computer it is possible to make the fault come and go.
      Over a coffee, then is the time to discuss the customers internal wiring and what may be done to optomise it.
      Last edited by Brian69; 14-10-08 at 05:15 PM.

    7. #16
      86winnie91's Avatar
      86winnie91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01920
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      Thanks Guys
      leaving work for the day probably no BB at home!
      I will update later any more thoughts are more than welcome

      thanks again

    8. #17
      86winnie91's Avatar
      86winnie91 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01920
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      Looks like the problem has been resolved (fingers crossed). The BT engineer found a fault at the exchange! they carried out something called a Lift and Shift (last wednesday 22/10), BB has been working fine since.

    9. #18
      jorkila's Avatar
      jorkila is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01553
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent Broadband connection

      Nice one fingers crossed it stays that way!!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION